Nation e-Edition

BRC’s best take a bow

BRC Virgin Atlantic Champion Driver Neil Corbin (centre, receiving his trophy and prize from a Virgin Atlantic representative) surrounded by the other drivers from the overall top ten at the BRC prize-giving ceremony on Friday. (Pictures courtesy Himal Reece/Barbados Rally Club.) MudDogs champion driver Chris Armstrong (left) and champion navigator Wayne Clarke after receiving their prizes from presenter Carol-ann Gollop. BRC four-wheel drive champions Paul Bourne and Megan Bryant (left) receiving their awards. Hat-trick BRC Autocross champion Omar Boodhoo (right) accepting his trophy from Geoff Goddard.

Mon, November 19, 2012 - 12:03 AM

More than 70 members of the motorsport fraternity were honoured at the Barbados Rally Club’s (BRC) annual prize-giving ceremony Friday night at Sugar Ultra Lounge, St Lawrence Gap.

Nearly 120 awards were presented, including return tickets to Britain courtesy of Virgin Atlantic, title sponsor of the BRC drivers’ and class championships.

Among the evening’s awardees were the sport’s volunteers. Long-standing marshals Noel Edwards, Phillip Gooding, Jimmy Hall and David Wood were acknowledged with trophies.

Another ten volunteers were recognised for their contribution, among them former BRC competition secretary Geoff Goddard, who was presented with an appreciation award by competitors for his work in organizing the BRC Autocross Championship.

After an unprecedented three-way tie for the Virgin Atlantic Champion Driver title, Modified 6 winner Neil Corbin won the tie-break from Daryl Clarke, who triumphed in Modified 7, and Logan Watson, who won both the SuperModified 11 class and the BRC two-wheel drive championship. The four-wheel drive title was won by Paul Bourne.

In the MudDogs Safari Championship, Wayne Clarke claimed the Sextant Challenge Trophy as champion navigator for the second year in a row, with regular partner Chris Armstrong winning his first champion driver title and the Peter Farmer Memorial Trophy.

Nick Branson and Dominic Straker were Chefette Novice Champion Navigator and Driver, respectively, while Omar Boodhoo completed an impressive hat-trick of Autocross championship titles.

Club officials thanked the sport’s stakeholders including marshals, officials, sponsors and the media for contributing to another successful season.

“I would also like to commend the committee of management for their continued efforts and, while congratulating this year’s winners, wish everyone good luck in 2013,” said chairman Geoff Noel.

Members were treated to the first public showing of British production company Greenlight TV’s coverage of Sol Rally Barbados 2012, which is scheduled for worldwide broadcast soon. (PR)

  • Editor's Choice

Share your thoughts

Please sign in or register to post your comments.

Latest Videos

Quick Poll

Do you agree with the demolition of the 100-year-old chapel at Lazaretto, Black Rock?

View Past Polls

Stay Connected to Your World

Join Your Friends & Our Community

Your Friends' Activity

Daily Cartoons

  • November 1, 2014 - 2014 11 01
  • October 31, 2014 - 2014 10 31
  • Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 toon - 2014 10 30