Nation e-Edition

Mia’s advice to cricketers

The Emmerson Alleyne Trophy for the most runs went to Yorkshire’s captain Kurt Wilkinson (left), and was presented by Malcolm Smith, general  manager of the team’s sponsors, Premix and Precast Concrete. Coach/player Antonio Mayers (left) accepting the Anthony Cobham Award for the best all-round performance from Cobham’s brother, Nigel. Fast bowler Jamel Noel (right) receiving the Michael Franklyn Memorial Trophy for most wickets from Kay Franklyn, the widow of the former Yorkshire swing bowler. Victor Warner (right) presenting the trophy that bears his name to Tariq Hoyte for most wickets in a match. Hoyte was also named an Emerging Player.

Wed, March 05, 2014 - 12:06 AM

MIA MOTTLEY was batting on a different pitch on Sunday when she gave a brief address at the Premix and Precast Yorkshire Sports Club’s 2013 awards ceremony at the Harold Nurse Resource Centre in Hothersal Turning.

Mottley, who is the parliamentary representative for the St Michael North East constituency, where the club is located, urged the young cricketers to maintain the legacy of the club, which is now its 64th year.

Yorkshire finished second in last year’s Barbados Cricket Association’s (BCA) Division One competition, behind winners CounterPoint Wanderers, narrowly missing out on promotion to the Elite Division.

The feature address was given by principal of the Parkinson School, Jeff Broomes, who is also a former BCA board member. Club president Louis Linton delivered the welcome address.

He said he didn’t believe there were enough “quality cricketers” in Barbados to maintain all the clubs and called for the merging of neighbouring clubs.


Honour roll

Emmerson Alleyne Trophy for Most Runs: Kurt Wilkinson

Michael Franklyn Trophy for Most Wickets: Jamel Noel

Outstanding Performances: Kurt Wilkinson, Kevin Ramsey, Jamal Layne, Ryan Layne.

Victor Warner Trophy for Most Wickets in a match: Tariq Hoyte

Emerging Players Award: Akeem Nero, Kevin Ramsey, Tariq Hoyte, Jamal Layne.

Anthony Cobham Allround Performance Trophy: Antonio Mayers

President’s Award: Kurt Wilkinson.

Awards of Merit: Mikhail Austin, Zack Mohammed, Timothy Legall.

  • Editor's Choice

Share your thoughts

Please sign in or register to post your comments.

Latest Videos

Quick Poll

Do you agree with the demolition of the 100-year-old chapel at Lazaretto, Black Rock?

View Past Polls

Stay Connected to Your World

Join Your Friends & Our Community

Your Friends' Activity

Daily Cartoons

  • Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 toon - 2014 10 30
  • October 29, 2014 - 2014 10 29
  • Tuesday Oct 28 2014 TOON - 2014 10 28