Things Bajan:Cavan’s Lane
Thu, November 15, 2012 - 8:55 AM
For the month of November, we will focus on things Barbados as this country celebrates its independence. Every day we will be highlighting Barbadian sayings, artefacts unique to the country, as well as personalities, icons, some places and things that reflect Barbados.
Today we focus on Cavan’s Lane in Bridgetown, which was named after the business firm of the Cavan brothers, Michael Cavan and Co, which operated in Bridgetown from 1797 to 1902.
The lane itself is much older, appearing on the Plan of Bridgetown of 1722.
The Cavan brothers also built Enmore House which was located at Collymore Rock. Cavan’s Lane leads to the Pierhead and Dry Dock, and the Cavan’s warehouses, later S.P Musson’s. which was later restored as the Waterfront Café and Warehouse nightclub.
• Source: A-Z Of Barbadian Heritage
- Editor's Choice
- Most Recent Comments
- arlene Browne commented on LOOKA LEW: $3000 in feathers and beads
- elliot gibbs commented on Canadians on bail
- Tony Waterman commented on Sad farewell for Charmer
- Tony Waterman commented on Amputations ‘a case’ for reparation
- Snow Cone commented on Short in Barbados to work, not party