• Today
    January 17

  • 06:17 PM

Four take honours in Crane Classic


Added 13 February 2018


Divisional champions in the 2018 Crane Classic Golf Tournament (from left) Collis Lynch, Manne Newell, Iz Hustler and Wayne Boucher with their awards. (GP)

Wayne Boucher and Canadian visitor Manne Newell emerged Stableford champions of the 7th annual Crane Classic which attracted close to 80 golfers last Saturday at the Barbados Golf Club (BGC).

At the end of 18 holes, after some competitive play on the fairways and greens, Collis Lynch and Iz Hustler took honours as stroke-play champions among the low handicap competitors (12 and under).

Hustler, a young Barbados player and the reigning RBC champion, shot a one-over-par 73 in posting the day’s best gross score, while Lynch, a 12 handicap and a veteran known to carry just eight clubs, produced a steady round to win the top net prize with 67.

Lynch was followed by Cardinal Burnett (68) and former Barbados player Orville Alleyne (69), based on net scores in the 12 and under division.

In women’s Stableford play, Newell, a regular visitor from Ontario, scored 34 points to emerge the best overall female player and was followed by young Barbados player Emily Odwin (32 points) and Sarah Pepper (30 points).

Among the men, the steady Boucher, who has been showing a return to form in recent weeks, posted 41 Stableford points for his win. He was chased by Mac Lampkin (37) and Leo Cascioli (36 points) in a competitive field.    

The Stableford system allows higher handicap players to be more competitive in tournament play. Rather than counting the total number of strokes taken, as in stroke-play, golfers play against the par score for each hole and register points based on the strokes taken.

The Crane Classic featured an 8 a.m. shotgun start, which allowed players to start and finish in just over four hours at the Durants course. Golfers, sponsors and supporters then came together for dinner and the award ceremony at the St Philip resort.

Several of the prizes included weekend stays and dining options at the hotel.

Among other prize winners were Zerina Belgrave (women’s longest drive); Shaquon Harding (men’s longest drive); and Jim Wimberley (men’s closest to pin).

Tournament director Mike Jackman and the BGC’s director of operations Carleon Brome Jr both thanked the players and sponsors for helping to make the annual tournament a success and invited local and visiting golfers to sign up for the 2019 edition. (PR/EZS)


Dos and Donts

Welcome to our discussion forum here on nationnews.com. We encourage lively debate, but we also urge you to take note of the following:

  • Stay on topic – This helps keep the thread focused on the discussion at hand. If you would like to discuss another topic, look for a relevant article.
  • Be respectful – Meeting differences of opinion with civil discussion encourages multiple perspectives and a positive commenting environment.
  • Do not type in capitals – In addition to being considered “shouting” it is also difficult to read.
  • All comments will be moderated – Given the volume of comments each day, this may take some time. So please be patient.
  • We reserve the right to remove comments – Comments that we find to be abusive, spam, libellous, hateful, off-topic or harassing may be removed.
  • Reproduction of comments – Some of your comments may be reproduced on the website or in our daily newspapers. We will use the handle, not your email address.
  • Do not advertise – Please contact our Advertising Department.
  • Contact our Online Editor if you have questions or concerns.
  • Read our full Commenting Policy and Terms of Use.
comments powered by Disqus


How has the intermittent strike action of the public service vehicle operators affected you?

Arrived late at destination
Experienced long delays
Had to walk
Not affected