• Today
    July 17

  • 01:42 AM

New BUT president elected


Added 14 April 2018


BUT president Sean Spencer. (GP)

Sean Spencer is the new president of the Barbados Union of Teachers.

He secured more votes than former president Pedro Shepherd and Everton Briggs when elections were held on Friday.

Below is the full list of those elected to serve on the executive for the period 2018 - 2019.


President - Sean Spencer

Vice president - Richmark Cave

General secretary - Herbert Gittens

Deputy general secretary - Rudy Lovell

Treasurer - Candacy Griffith

Public relations officer - Julian Pierre


Executive members:

Andre Holder

Asha Yearwood

Tanya Mayers

Jacqueline Prescod

Andrea Puckering

Dwayne Greenidge



Dos and Donts

Welcome to our discussion forum here on nationnews.com. We encourage lively debate, but we also urge you to take note of the following:

  • Stay on topic – This helps keep the thread focused on the discussion at hand. If you would like to discuss another topic, look for a relevant article.
  • Be respectful – Meeting differences of opinion with civil discussion encourages multiple perspectives and a positive commenting environment.
  • Do not type in capitals – In addition to being considered “shouting” it is also difficult to read.
  • All comments will be moderated – Given the volume of comments each day, this may take some time. So please be patient.
  • We reserve the right to remove comments – Comments that we find to be abusive, spam, libellous, hateful, off-topic or harassing may be removed.
  • Reproduction of comments – Some of your comments may be reproduced on the website or in our daily newspapers. We will use the handle, not your email address.
  • Do not advertise – Please contact our Advertising Department.
  • Contact our Online Editor if you have questions or concerns.
  • Read our full Commenting Policy and Terms of Use.
comments powered by Disqus


Do you think the schools starting earlier in the new school term will help with traffic management?