• Today
    May 23

  • 11:55 AM

Hinds, Gittens medal

Sherrylyn A. Toppin,

Added 06 July 2013

Andrew Hinds and Ramon Gittens picked up silver and bronze, respectively, and the gamble to send a relay team paid off big time as the men met the qualifying standard for the IAAF World Championships in Moscow next month. Hinds was second overall in 10.19 seconds in the men’s 100 metres, the same as national champion Gittens, who was awarded third place, on the opening day of the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Senior Athletics Championships in Morelia, Mexico, yesterday. It was a close finish, with Jamaican Andrew Fisher taking gold in 10.14 seconds. Earlier, Hinds did 10.13 seconds in the semi-finals, qualifying for the World Championships after hitting the “A” standard of 10.15. Gittens, who has already qualified, did 10.19 and Fisher had the fastest qualifying time of 10.07. Not only did the men’s relay quartet just dip under the qualifying standard of 39.20 seconds, with 39.18, the fourth fastest time going into today’s final, they also shattered the 18-year national record (pending ratification) of 39.49 seconds. That mark was set back in 1995 at the CAC Senior Championships in Guatemala by Garfield Gill, Justin St Hill, Achebe Hope and Obadele Thompson. Nicholas Deshong led off, followed by Levi Cadogan, Shane Brathwaite and Hinds. The IAAF qualifying period runs to July 29. Barbados will be chasing more medals today with Brathwaite recording the second fastest time in the men’s 110 metres hurdles. Brathwaite coasted to victory in his heat in 13.60, but has a personal best time of 13.31. Wayne Davis III of Trinidad and Tobago leads all qualifiers with 13.50 seconds. Jade Bailey was 11th overall in the women’s 100 metres with a time of 11.74 seconds and missed out on the final which was won by Jamaica’s Sherry-Ann Brooks in 11.21 seconds. Compatriot Aleen Bailey was third in 11.34 and Marielys Sanchez of Dominican Republic second with 11.24. Charles Greaves did not record a single legal leap in the men’s long jump which was won by Mexico’s Alberto Alvarez with 7.86 metres. Sade Sealy also came up short in the women’s 400 metres, losing the script over the last 80 to fade to fourth in 54.09 seconds. She was tenth overall and did not advance to today’s final. In other events, St Lucia won gold and silver, respectively, in the women’s high jump. Levern Spencer won the event with a new meet record, clearing 1.95m, one centimetre better than her old mark set in 2005. CARIFTA champion Jeanelle Scheper was second with 1.92m and Saniel Atkinson-Grier of Jamaica third with 1.84. Chad Wright of Jamaica won the men’s discus with 60.79m and bronze went to Trinidad and Tobago’s Quincy Wilson with 55.83m. Trinidad and Tobago also won gold with Cleopatra Borel putting the shot 17.56m.


Dos and Donts

Welcome to our discussion forum here on nationnews.com. We encourage lively debate, but we also urge you to take note of the following:

  • Stay on topic – This helps keep the thread focused on the discussion at hand. If you would like to discuss another topic, look for a relevant article.
  • Be respectful – Meeting differences of opinion with civil discussion encourages multiple perspectives and a positive commenting environment.
  • Do not type in capitals – In addition to being considered “shouting” it is also difficult to read.
  • All comments will be moderated – Given the volume of comments each day, this may take some time. So please be patient.
  • We reserve the right to remove comments – Comments that we find to be abusive, spam, libellous, hateful, off-topic or harassing may be removed.
  • Reproduction of comments – Some of your comments may be reproduced on the website or in our daily newspapers. We will use the handle, not your email address.
  • Do not advertise – Please contact our Advertising Department.
  • Contact our Online Editor if you have questions or concerns.
  • Read our full Commenting Policy and Terms of Use.
comments powered by Disqus


What grade would you give Government’s overall performance after the first year in office?