Things Bajan:Cavan's Lane

CAROL MARTINDALE, carolmartindale@nationnews.com

Added 15 November 2012

thingsbajansite

For the month of November, we will focus on things Barbados as this country celebrates its independence. Every day we will be highlighting Barbadian sayings, artefacts unique to the country, as well as personalities, icons, some places and things that reflect Barbados. Today we focus on Cavan’s Lane in Bridgetown, which was named after the business firm of the Cavan brothers, Michael Cavan and Co, which operated in Bridgetown from 1797 to 1902. The lane itself is much older, appearing on the Plan of Bridgetown of 1722. The Cavan brothers also built Enmore House which was located at Collymore Rock. Cavan’s Lane leads to the Pierhead and Dry Dock, and the Cavan’s warehouses, later S.P Musson’s. which was later restored as the Waterfront Café and Warehouse nightclub. • Source: A-Z Of Barbadian Heritage

comments powered by Disqus

VIDEO

POLL

Do you agree with principal Joseph King that the Ministry of Education needs to revisit the ban on cellphones?

Yes
No
Don't know

INSTAGRAM

CARTOON