Juniors make mark

Justin Marville,

Added 02 November 2012


Jahlarni Toney further confirmed his credentials as the toast of primary school distance running. Indica Kellman-Wall was only too happy to start presenting hers. Wilkie Cumberbatch’s cross country queen announced herself yesterday, winning her first Inspire Sports Trevor Straughn Memorial 1-K while Toney took the boys’ equivalent for St Giles at the Wildey Gymnasium course. The diminutive Kellman-Wall had trailed for all but the final 600 metres, having seemingly surrendered top honours to Hilda Skeene’s Neena Gittens, who held the early lead coming off the hill. However, Gittens faded while Kellman-Ward found another gear to pass her rival down the back straight. Kellman-Wall finished in a time of six minutes and five seconds, relegating Gittens (6:11) to second while Acacia Small (6:24) crossed the line third for Hillaby Turners Hall. Bay Primary’s Rowlande Kirton-Browne, St Angela’s Dominique Wood and Kiara Holloway of St George were fifth, sixth and seventh respectively. The overall team results were not known up to Press time, though Hilda Skeene appeared to be early favourites after Gittens, 12th-placed Dania Haynes and Chelsea Yearwood, who finished 17th, gave their school three finishers in the top 20. In the race for boys, Toney set the pace from the opening gun and pulled away from Damario Moore and Lashon Bispham over the last 400 metres to win in 5:40 minutes. Moore gave Hilda Skeene their second successive silver medal when he crossed the line in 5:46, one second ahead of Bispham of Cuthbert Moore. Toney was one of two St Giles boys to finish in the top ten as Jacobi Grannum placed sixth clocking 5:49. Hilda Skeene had one more finisher in the first 20, with Moore heading a group that included Daniko Dottin (11) and Kai Brewster (13). Trevor Straughn’s widow, Leta, was on hand to start the races and also handed out individual trophies to the top 20 finishers in both events. TOP-TEN RESULTS GIRLS 1. Indica Kellman-Wall (Wilkie Cumberbatch) 2. Neena Gittens (Hilda Skeene) 3. Acacia Small (Hillaby Turners Hall) 4. Nefertari Holder (Eagle Hall) 5. Rowlande Kirton-Browne (Bay Primary) 6. Dominique Wood (St Angela’s) 7. Kiara Holloway (St George) 8. Rhea Hoyte (Westbury) 9. Shanice Broome (St Stephen’s) 10. Jaleen Douglas (St Giles) BOYS 1. Jahlarni Toney (St Giles) 2. Damario Boyce (Hilda Skeene) 3. Lashon Bispham (Cuthbert Moore) 4. Deleko Worrell (Eagle Hall) 5. Dimitri Arthur (Milton Lynch) 6. Jacobi Grannum (St Giles) 7. Rashad White (St George) 8. Damon Dawson (St Matthews) 9. Rashon Rogers (St Stephen’s) 10. Kemar Jordan (Eden Lodge)

comments powered by Disqus



Do you think Barbados is a miserable place?

Don't know