'Undertaker' takes charge

beadottin, beadottin@nationnews.com

Added 07 November 2012


Robin “The Undertaker” Mustor emerged champion when the long-awaited 2012 Radio Operated Auto Racers (ROAR) 1:8 Off Road National Championships were held at the Garfield Sobers Raceway last Sunday. Starting with the qualifying heats, Chris Wadman and Matthew Whitney of Team Wadman Brothers were the two fastest “drivers” to advanace to the semi-final round. During the 20-minute quarter-finals, Andrew “Scooby” Smith, at the controls of his Mustor’s Wholesale Liquors Team Xray XB 808 and facing mechanical difficulties from the start of the day, was eliminated. With Wadman and Whitney now joining the eight remaining “drivers”, the stage was set for the semi-final round where one competitor would not reach the finals. When race director Robert Armstrong signalled the end of the 30-minute semi-final, Mustor was declared the winner and started in pole position for the finals. Scott Foster, with his Hot Bodies D8 placed second and Barry Mustor, who was competing in Off Road racing for the first time, captured third position. This time around, Brian “Necky” Bayne, controlling the Mustor’s Wholesale Liquors Team Xray XB 9, did not advance to the final round of competition. The stage was then set for a nail-biting, 45-minute showdown, and from the time the starter’s orders were given, it was Robin Mustor and Foster who  immediately put distance between themselves and the rest of the field. They constantly exchanged the lead before Mustor finally pulled clear. This brilliant “drive” afforded Mustor the privilege of being the holder of the prestigious title of national champion for the third time, having won the inaugural event in 2009 and in 2011. Mustor recorded 54 laps for the duration of the race while his main rival, Foster, placed second on 53 laps and Gerry Haynes, with his Wadman Brothers Team Associated RC8, captured the final podium spot. The regular racing season continues on November 18. Final results (laps are in brackets): 1. Robin Mustor (54), 2. Scott Foster (53), 3. Gerry Haynes (48), 4. Delroy Newton (47), 5. Ryan Hill (44), 6. Nick Harrison (38), 7. Chris Wadman (38-DNF), 8. Matthew Whitney (34-DNF), 9. Barry Mustor (1-DNF). (PR/EZS)

comments powered by Disqus



Do you think Barbados is a miserable place?

Don't know