Posted on

Benn keeps place, loses fee


Benn keeps place, loses fee

Social Share

Sulieman Benn gets to keep his place in the West Indies squad but has lost his entire match fee from last Sunday’s One Day International versus South Africa.
The West Indies Cricket Board today confirmed in a statement that the Barbadian left arm spinner will pay the full price for disobeying captain Chris Gayle’s instructions during the ODI in Dominica – 100 per cent of his match fee.
The statement said the team management met with Benn on Monday and he accepted the punishment.
Benn, 28, was asked to leave the field by Gayle after he opted not to change from the side of the wicket where he usually bowls, as requested by the skipper during South Africa’s seven-wicket victory before a capacity crowd at Windsor Park. He had only delivered four of his allotted 10 overs at that stage.
The WICB also said the matter is closed and subsequently announced an unchanged 14-member squad for the fifth ODI against South Africa at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago, including Benn, who has taken 13 wickets in 18 ODIs at an average of 49.84 and an economy rate of 4:32 runs per over, retaining his place.
The Proteas, who lead the five-match series 4-0 and will be going after their third ODI whitewash against the winless Windies in Thursday’s final match.It is the second time in the last six months that Benn has been fined.
He was suspended for two ODIs following a clash with Mitchell Johnson and Brad Haddin during the Perth Test against Australia last December.
Benn was also previously fined for indiscipline during a West Indies A tour of England in 2002. On each occasion, former West Indies fast bowler Joel Garner, who is also president of the Barbados Cricket Association, was team manager.
On the local circuit, the temperamental Benn was forced to have counselling after an incident at the Empire Club while he escaped punishment for a mid-pitch confrontation with Robin Parris during his club, Spartan’s derby clash with Empire, two seasons ago.
SQUAD FOR 5th ODI: Chris Gayle (captain), Dwayne Bravo (vice-captain), Travis Dowlin, Darren Bravo, Sulieman Benn, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Darren Sammy, Kieron Pollard, Narsingh Deonarine, Denesh Ramdin, Jerome Taylor, Ravi Rampaul, David Bernard, Dale Richards.