Posted on

Watson and Padmore rule

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Social Share

A CLASSIC GAME of finesse and tactics saw Shari Watson overcoming Sabrina Scott in three sets on Thursday, finals night of the 2010 Senior National Badminton Championships at the Wildey Gymnasium.Watson came from behind to win the match 21-23, 21-15, 21-15, not falling prey to Scott’s tactics of sending the shuttle to all corners of the court in what was an attempt to tire Watson.It was a good strategy, since Watson showed the signs of having played many hard matches earlier in the week and seemed to lack focus. As more and more cracks appeared in the armour, Scott cruised to an easy victory in the first game.  In the next two games, Watson dug deep and adopted a “nothing hits the floor” policy, coupling that with a plan of forcing Scott to change direction at high speed. Her plan never changed and Scott was unable to counter. Scott had many chances to turn the tide of the match as there were openings left by Watson but frustration set in and sealed Scott’s fate.Defending champion André Padmore stamped his authority on the proceedings from the first point, defeating Ryan Holder 21-18, 21-10 to retain the men’s singles title.Using a high, deep service, Padmore controlled the tempo of the entire tie. He never allowed the flashy and deceptive Holder to get into the game with pushes to the trams, looping drops or smashes. When Holder failed to raise the shuttle to backcourt, Padmore was quick to capitalise and extend his lead. In the mixed doubles final, the newly formed duo of Mariama Eastmond and Ryan Holder dethroned the defending champions Sabrina Scott and Kevin Wood 21-14, 21-18.  Eastmond led the way with strong net play, guiding her team to an easy first-game win. But the second proved a harder task for them Holder as Wood and Scott initially got the upper hand. However, the defending champions simply made too many unforced errors and were eventually defeated.In other matches, Padmore and Kevin Wood defeated Kelvin Mallett Jr and Bradley Pilgrim 21-15, 21-19 in the men’s doubles, while Eastmond and Watson won the women’s title with a walkover on Shakeira Waithe and Tamisha Williams. (PR/SAT)Summarised scoresWomen’s Singles Final: Shari Watson def. Sabrina Scott 21-23, 21-15, 21-15.Men’s Singles Final: André Padmore def. Ryan Holder 21-18, 21-10.Semi-finals: André Padmore defeated Kevin Wood 21-17, 21-13.Ryan Holder def. Dakeil Thorpe 21-13, 18-21, 21-18.Women’s Doubles Final: Shari Watson and Mariama Eastmond def. Shakeira Waithe and Tamisha Williams by walk over.Men’s Doubles Final: Kevin Wood and André Padmore def. Kelvin Mallett Jr. and Bradley Pilgrim 21-15, 21-19.Mixed Doubles Final: Mariama Eastmond and Ryan Holder def. Sabrina Scott and Kevin Wood 21-14, 21-18.Most Outstanding Female: Mariama EastmondMost Outstanding Male: André Padmore