Posted on

ROAR’s third season opens on Sunday.


ROAR’s third season opens on Sunday.

Social Share

WHEN THE Frutee-sponsored third season of the Radio Operated Auto Racers (ROAR) roars off at 2 p.m. on Sunday at the Garfield Sobers Raceway at the Wildey Gymnasium, a day of thrills and spills will be expected.
The 1:10 On Road “Modified” Class has attracted the largest number of competitors, and current champion Corey Birkett and his Titan Enterprises/ Team Spring Garden-sponsored Team Xray NT 1 are expected to be put under severe pressure.
He will have stiff competition from Llewellyn Riley, operating his BICO-sponsored Mugen MTX 4R, Brian Taylor (the JBR Pools-sponsored Mugen MTX 4R), Jeremy Birkett (the Titan Enterprises-sponsored Serpent 733) and Nigel Thomas (the Unlimited Graphics-sponsored Mugen MTX 4R).
The likes of Kyle Moore, controlling the Express Hardware-sponsored Ofna, Seymour Byer (Team Magic G4S), Delroy Newton (Snackers/Robian Inc.-sponsored Team Associated NTC3) and Gerry Haynes (Natural Medicinals Inc-sponsored Mugen MTX 4R) are all eager to be crowned as champion at the end of this season.
Also expected to make a return to racing in this class are veterans Corey Stanford, operating his Novarossi-powered Serpent 733; Ryan “Maughan” White (the 2010 Team Xray NT 1) and Barry Mustor (Team Magic G4S).
In the 1:8 “Modified” Off Road class, a very keen battle is expected between national champion Robin “The Undertaker” Mustor, at the controls of his Vita Malt-sponsored Team Xray XB 808, and Chris Wadman, operating his Wadman Brothers-sponsored 2010 Team Xray XB 808.
These two are basically equal on power and skill, so it is expected that it will be a fight to the end for this championship. However, Scott Foster, controlling his Plastic Repair Centre/Wildlife Reserve-sponsored Hot Bodies D8 buggy, should not be taken lightly after making some needed improvements to his machine.
Matthew “Left Ball” Whitney, who will be steering his Whitney’s Trucking-sponsored Mugen MBX 6, has sent a stern warning that the second season was a testing period for him and he will reap his rewards this season.
Gerry Haynes (the Natural Medicinals Inc-sponsored Sportwerks Racing Mayhem) and Brian Taylor (the JBR Pools-sponsored Mugen MBX 6) also expect to be in the thick of things.
The popular 1:8 On Road racing class is expected to make its long awaited return and fans can rest assured that drivers such as Desmond Griffith, Corey Birkett, Taylor, and Riley will send thrills through their spines, as they blast down the back straight at over 60 MPH.
Finally, Luke Stuart, in his Natural Medicinals Inc-sponsored Team Losi 8ight, is expected to once again make light work of the other competitors in the 1:8 “Open” Off Road class.
One can only hope that veterans Austin Garner, in his Wadman Brothers-sponsored O’Donnell Racing Z01B, and Richard Gamble, in his Team Xray XB 8 EC, make a better effort to keep up with Stuart and the ever improving Andrew “Scooby” Smith (Mustor’s Wholesale Liquors-sponsored Team Xray XB 8). (PR)