Posted on

U-15s vying for semi-final spot

Elvis Howard

Social Share

COMBERMERE, Deighton Griffith and Garrison lead their respective zones ahead of today’s sixth and penultimate series of matches in the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) LIME Under-15 championship.Defending champions Combermere are out front in Zone ‘A’ with 23 points.  Last year’s losing finalists Deighton Griffith lead zone ‘B’ with 15 points, and Garrison top Zone ‘C’  on 25 points including three victories, the most overall.Combermere have drawn a bye this round and will meet St Michael in the final round starting next Tuesday. Meanwhile, Coleridge and Parry and Lodge, on 20 and 18 points respectively, meet today in the top-of-the-table clash at Society. It is Coleridge and Parry’s final game, while Lodge have one in hand against Parkinson.Deighton Griffith and Lester Vaughan will meet at Cane Garden. A win for Deighton Griffith in their final match today will guarantee them a place in the semi-final. If they lose to Lester Vaughan they must at least gain first innings points to stand a chance of reaching the semis. Both Alexandra and Lester Vaughan also have a chance to qualify but must at least gain a victory. The two will clash next week at Cane Garden.  Alexandra and St. Lucy will square off today at St Lucy School.In Zone ‘C’, Garrison who only need to draw their last two preliminary matches to reach the semi- final will oppose joint second-placed St Leonard’s at Beckles Road.  The other second-placed side, Harrison College, with 15 points, have drawn a bye but will come against Alleyne next week.Garrison’s Jafari Toppin, with unbeaten knocks of 110 against Grantley Adams and 158 against St James, has scored two of only three centuries so far in the competition. The other was made by Lee-Germon Gaskin who made 106 for Foundation against Lester Vaughan.
Points standing after Round 5 (NB: Two series of matches left; number of matches played in brackets). Zone A: Combermere 23 (5), Coleridge & Parry 20 (5), Lodge 18 (4), Ellerslie 11 (4), St. Michael 10 (4), Parkinson 1 (4), Princess Margaret 1 (4).Zone B: Deighton Griffith 15 (4), *Foundation 14 (5), Lester Vaughan 10 (3), Queen’s College 5 (4), Alexandra 5 (3), St. Lucy 1 (3). NB: Barbados Females do not compete for points.Zone C: Garrison 25 (4), St. Leonard’s 15 (4), Harrison College 15 (5), St. George 7 (4), Alleyne 5 (4), Grantley Adams 4 (5), St. James 3 (4).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maximum 1000 characters remaining in your comment.