Posted on

Weekes, Mounter shine

marciadottin, [email protected]

Social Share

SHANE WEEKES and Javed Mounter shared honours when the Barbados Cycling Union’s 2010 National Championships wheeled off at the Randolph Fields Velodrome on Friday night.Weekes, of A-class Battery Golden Wheelers, won the seniors keirin from Dwayne Bellamy and Omar Ifill. Weekes also won the 1000-metre kilometre time trial (1:11.81 minutes) from Ifill.Mounter of Accessory M.S. One Line was the top junior. He won the keirin and 1000-metre kilometre for juniors. Rico Nurse was second in the keirin while Mounter (1:13.71) beat Russell Elcock (1:16.42) into second place in the 1000-kilometre final.20-lap raceBellamy, of Velo Caribe, won the 20-lap scratch race final from Mounter and veteran Steve Marshall.Marshall had earlier won the Masters keirin from Vere Wiggins and Adrian Sealy. Marshall also triumphed in the Masters kilo in 1:22.40 from Gregory Catwell and Jeffrey Patrick. Deidre Mayers of Velo Caribe took the women’s 500 metres from Denise Crebbin in 41.39 seconds and also captured the 200 metres final.In the 500 metres for tinymites, Greg Vanderpool was first with Liam Lovell second and Tunnico Weekes third.Juveniles raceKristin Vanderpool won the juveniles race in 38.27 from Shaquille Cossy and Brandon Wilkie while Tiron Parris of A Class Battery won the 500 and 1000 metres BMX Under-10 races.Rashon Yorke was first in the Under-12 BMX 500-metre event while Akeem Perryman took the BMX Under-8 500 metres. Charane Catwell of G4S clocked 15.24 seconds to take the women’s 200m tinymites event.  (EZS)