Posted on

Two fresh faces in squad

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Two fresh faces in squad

Social Share

BARBADOS will have at least two newcomers and four overseas-based footballers for the first-round campaign of the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup in St Vincent early next month.
The first-timers are Wales midfielder Dawayne Stephens and Deacons midfielder/striker Terry Adamson, who previously had a stint on the United States collegiate circuit.
Wigan Athletic captain Emmerson Boyce, who plays in the English Premiership, former Millwall, Sheffield United and Crystal Palace striker Paul Ifill, who now plays in New Zealand’s A-League for Wellington Phoenix, and Scunthorpe’s winger Jonathan Forte have all indicated an interest in representing their adopted country once again.
Barbados will oppose St Kitts-Nevis on October 6, followed by encounters against Montserrat and hosts St Vincent and the Grenadines at Victoria Park on October 8 and 10, respectively.
Irish-based goalkeeper Alvin “Banana” Rouse is already back in Barbados as well as the Barbados Defence Force six-footers Barry Skeete and Mario Harte.
In all, 24 players have been shortlisted, including 12 who took part in the last Digicel campaign when Barbados reached the final round.
Fans will get a chance to see the national team in action for the first time since February last year on Saturday and Sunday when Barbados host Dominica in two friendly internationals at the National Stadium, at 6 p.m. and 8 p.m., respectively.
St Leonard’s schoolboy Raheim Sargeant, a midfielder with the Kick Start youth team, is also among the shortlisted players as well as Deacons’ uncapped defenders Jason Carter and Kadeem “Buju” Atkins, Dames’ goalkeeper Kareem Farrell, and Dayrells Road’s defender Jomo Brathwaite.
Experienced utility player Sheridan “Rudi” Grosvenor, who had a solid season with double crown champions Claytons Kola Tonic Notre Dames, has also been recalled.
Squad Goalkeepers: Alvin Rouse, Adrian Chase, Kareem Farrell
Defenders: Emmerson Boyce, Barry Skeete, John Parris, Omar Archer, Bryan Neblett, Andre Daniel, Kadeem Atkins, Jason Carter, Jonathan Straker, Jomo Brathwaite.
Midfielders: Romelle Burgess, Dawayne Stephens, Jeffrey Williams, Terry Adamson, Rudi Grosvenor, Raheim Sargeant.
Strikers: Norman Forde, Riviere Williams, Mario Harte, Jonathan Forte.