Posted on

High five – Bajan Tridents find range against Montserrat

Ezra Stuart in St Vincent

High five – Bajan Tridents find range against Montserrat

Social Share

Barbados totally outplayed and outclassed lightweights Montserrat 5-0 in their Group B Digicel Caribbean Cup qualifying football match at Victoria Park last night.
Captain Norman Forde led from the front with a brace in the 18th and 82nd minutes, while Riviere Williams (36th) and the Deacons Farm pair of substitutes, Terry Adamson (52nd) and teenager Kadeem Atkins (90th), completed the rout as the Bajan Tridents returned to winning ways.
The victory, while not as lopsided as the team’s 7-1 hammering of Anguilla in the 2006 Digicel Cup in Antigua, carried Barbados to four points.
It also kept them on course for qualification to the second round phase in Grenada later this month, should they defeat hosts St Vincent and the Grenadines, in the final match tomorrow night.
Barbados made two changes to the team which started in Wednesday’s 1-1 draw with St Kitts-Nevis. Rookie Jason Carter replaced the injured Jonathan Straker, while striker Mario Harte came in for Bryan Neblett, with the versatile Rudy Grosvenor drifting back to left-wing back.
The Bajan Tridents, with a 4-3-3 formation, started positively, making several penetrating runs, with Jeffrey Williams at the forefront, but seemed too anxious and were unable to score in the first 15 minutes.
It wasn’t until Williams was switched to the right side that Barbados, ranked 82 places above their fledgling opponents, took the lead in the 18th minute.
Forde danced through the centre of the accommodating Montserrat defence and delightfully dished off to Williams, whose low shot ricocheted off the right upright for Forde to follow through and easily head home.
Barbados went flat for the next 15 minutes, with Neblett replacing Grosvenor, but found their rhythm again to add a second goal in the 36th minute.The irresistible Forde then smartly set up Riviere Williams through the centre for a simple chip over goalkeeper Micah Hilton.
Four minutes later, Forde quickly pushed a free-kick to Riviere Williams but he hit over the crossbar from ten yards. A minute later, Riviere also outpaced Montserrat’s sweeper Ellery White but scooped another chip wide of the far corner as Barbados settled for a 2-0 half-time cushion.
Barbados made an early second-half substitution and it paid dividends immediately as Adamson raced onto the field and confidently headed home a fantastic free-kick by Forde, from the right side of the penalty area.
After a series of corners – 11 in all to not a single one by Montserrat, who had to defend stoutly – a counter-attack saw Leovan O’Garro getting clear of the Barbados defence but his left-booter sailed over the crossbar.
Forde climaxed an outstanding match by weaving through the defence and drilling a firm right-foot shot past Hilton and into the far corner to make it 4-0.Another pinpoint pass by Forde set Adamson free but he took responsibility and shot over the bars, even though he had Atkins lurking on his left.
But Adamson redeemed himself with a neat unselfish touch to his Deacons teammate Atkins and the 18-year-old former St Leonard’s schoolboy turned and hammered into the roof of the nets with his favoured left foot on the stroke of full-time, joining Adamson in registering maiden goals for the senior national side.
TeamsBarbados – Alvin Rouse (GK), Barry Skeete, Omar Archer, John Parris, Sheridan “Rudy” Grosvenor (Bryan Neblett, 25th), Jason Carter, Rommel Burgess, Rashida Jeffrey Williams, Riviere Williams (Terry Adamson, 52nd), Norman Forde, Mario Harte (Kadeem Atkins, 65th).Montserrat – Micah Hilton (GK), Julian Wade, Standford Jarrett, Clifford Joseph, Linbert Wright, Vlaimir Farrell, Rowan Taylor, Ellery White, Pete Phyll, Kenneth Dyer, Leovan O’Garro.Goal scorers – Barbados: Norman Forde (18th, 82nd), Riviere Williams (36th), Terry Adamson (52nd), Kadeem Atkins (90th).Referee: Antonius Pinas (Suriname); assistant referees: John Durand (Dominica), Nehron Williams (Dominica); fourth official: Caswell Cambridge (St Vincent); commissioner: Philip White (Dominica), referees’ assessor: Ronald Geoffrey (Trinidad).