Posted on

Good die young, says Sir Frederick

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Good die young, says Sir Frederick

Social Share

KNIGHTS Sir Frederick Smith and Sir Maurice King say the country is much the poorer for the passing of Prime Minister David Thompson.
Sir Frederick, a key figure and Cabinet Minister in the much vaunted Errol Barrow administration between 1961 and 76, said Thompson’s death at age 48 was proof that the good die young.
“It’s a pity that he should die at this particular time. He has shown that only the good die young,” he said.
 Sir Frederick, a former Attorney-General, said Thompson was committed to taking Barbados to the next level.
Higher service
“He loved Barbados. He was committed to its best interests. God knows best and has called him to a higher service.”
Describing him as a protégé of first Prime Minister Errol Barrow, Sir Frederick said Thompson was one of the most sincere people he had ever met.
Sir Maurice, who served in the Cabinet of both Barrow and Sir Lloyd Sandiford, described Thompson’s death as a tragedy.
The former Attorney-General said Thompson had passed on in the prime of his life and had much to offer, saying he had departed without getting the opportunity to fulfil his undeniable promise.
Senator Reverend David Durant, the chief organiser of a major prayer session for Thompson back in July, said Thompson was a family man and one who loved his country.
Great son
“He was a husband, father and leader. Barbados has lost a great son. He fought to the end and died peacefully,” said Durant, who acknowledged that Thompson had submitted to the sovereign will  of God.
Another man of the cloth, Reverend Guy Hewitt, the chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) board, said that Thompson had exemplified service to country and dedication to family.
  Thompson is the third Prime Minister of Barbados to die in office following J. M. G. “Tom” Adams in March 1985 and Errol Walton Barrow in June 1987.
 Barbados has now lost four of its six Prime Ministers, with Sir Lloyd Sandiford and Owen Seymour Arthur the only living holders of the office.