Posted on

Barbados call 50 to trials

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Barbados call 50 to trials

Social Share

POLICE?off-spinner Jason Smith; Wanderers’ duo Chad Clarke-Reifer and Jason Greene and Carlton’s batsman Krisnan Hurdle are among 50 cricketers invited to attend practice sessions and participate in Barbados trial matches in preparation for the 2011 WICB regional first-class championship, from February 4 to April 11.
The pint-sized Smith, a former Lord Gavron awardee, captured 60 wickets in the just ended Division One competition. Only Sagicor UWI’s Ryan Austin (71) took more wickets.
Austin and left-handed opener Omar Phillips, another invitee, have represented the Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) over the past few seasons in the regional competitions.
Young fast bowlers Miquel Cummins and Rashid O’neale, from the Barbados Defence Force Youth Programme, have also been invited but a noticeable omission is pacer Kevin McClean, who made a return to club cricket over the last fortnight for UWI.
The Barbados Youth trio of Jomel Warrican, Roston Chase and Kyle Mayers as well as UWI’s young left-hander Raymon Reifer are also among the trialists.
The dates for the practice sessions are January 4 to 6 and January 12 and 13 while the first trial match will be held from January 8 to 11; the second from January 14 to 16 and the third from January 26 to 29.
Renaldo Arthur, Ryan Austin, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Rashidi Boucher, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, Patrick Browne, Jonathan Carter, Nikolai Charles, Roston Chase, Chad Clarke-Reifer, Pedro Collins, Miquel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Corey Edwards, Fidel Edwards, Kirk Edwards, Marlon Graham, Jason Greene, Jamar Griffith, Jason Haynes, Ryan Hinds, Alcindo Holder, Jason Holder, Kyle Hope, Kofie Hurdle, Krisnan Hurdle, Ryan Layne, Joel Leacock, Kyle Mayers, Carlo Morris, Ashley Nurse, Martin Nurse, Rohan Nurse, Rashid O’neale, Omar Phillips, Raymon Reifer, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Javon Searles, Shadd Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jamal Smith, Jason Smith, Kevin Stoute, Randy Thomas, Jomel Warrican, Kenroy Williams.