Posted on

Good Shepherd still rule Zone 1

Sherrylyn A. Toppin

Good Shepherd still rule Zone 1

Social Share

Good Shepherd Primary’s stranglehold on the Obadele Thompson Zone One of the Pine Hill National Primary Schools’ Athletic Championships remained intact after they won both sections yesterday at the National Stadium.
Although they didn’t look as strong as previous years, they still won quite easily. The girls led from the start and finished with 193 points. St Mark’s and St Philip challenged strongly throughout the day, but they tied for second with 140.5 points, one more than fourth placed Workmans. St Catherine were fifth with 95 points.
The boys came from behind, earning 183.75 points to overtake Workmans (162) who gave them quite a scare in the early part of the day. St Catherine were third with 129.75, followed by
St Margaret’s with 123 and Boscobel a distant fifth with 88 points.
Rodnica Jones of Workmans was the victrix ludorum with 28 points. She won the Under-11 girls’ long jump with a leap measuring 3.43 metres and the 100 metres in 14.50 seconds. In the 200, she missed a clean sweep, second behind Good Shepherd’s Aleisha Doyle in 31.39 seconds. Doyle’s time was 31.36.
The victor ludorum title went to St Bernard’s Shatori Eversley, also with 28 point in the Under-7 division. In the standing broad jump, his hop of 1.24 metres was good for gold and he was also first in the tennis ball throw with 29.10 metres. He had to take second place in the 50m dash (9.42) behind St Elizabeth’s Shemario Holder (9.39) seconds).  
In the Under-13 division, three sprinters who won their 200m heats stood out. Izion Lorde of St Margaret’s had the best overall time of 28.48 seconds, followed by schoolmate Shaquon Arthur (28.49) and Workmans Terrell Hinds who was third in 29.50.
In the Under-13 100 metres, Xario Prescod of Boscobel was the winner in 13.65 seconds, followed by Nicky Hunte (13.71) of St Catherine and St James’ Nicholi Jordan in 13.83.
Among the girls, St Philip’s Destinee Straughn won the 100 metres in 14.48 seconds from St Bernard’s Rashida Mayers and Regina St Hill, both timed at 14.54 seconds and in the 200 Sherika Shepherd of St Philip won the 200 in 29.39 seconds.
Among the tiny tots, St Mark’s Kayghun Rouse was the Under-7 girls’ division champion, winning the 50 metres dash in 9.90 seconds, the only athlete to break the ten-second barrier. She was also second in the standing broad jump with 1.00m, an event won by Good Shepherd’s Tehillah Broome by 12 centimetres.
Workmans’ Jamiya Best won the Under-9 girls’ 80m dash in 12.97 seconds and Good Shepherd’ Tio St Hill won the boys’ race with the fastest time of 12.60 seconds.  St Mark’s Ikazela Samuels took the 150m in 24.06 seconds and Keoni Williams of Good Shepherd was first among the boys in 23.68 seconds.
In the Under-11 division, Good Shepherd’s Kamille Griffith-Gaskin and Michael Patrick joined Chalky Mount’s Reon Clarke and St Lawrence’s Kobe Browne with wins.
The day started with the longer events. In the 600 metres, Azriel Chadderton of Good Shepherd came through in the last five metres, winning in 2 minutes, 05.02 seconds, while Boscobel’s Rashid Jordan won the 800m in 2:50.22.
In the field Jadon Sobers of St Catherine stood out with 52.09 metres in the Under-13 boys’ cricket ball throw and Workmans’ Simeon Morris leaped 4.12m to win the long jump. Britney Sealy got some valuable points for Trinity Academy in the Under-13 girls’ long jump with 3.73m and Boscobel’s Emmerson Hooper won the Under-13 boys’ cricket ball throw with 42.59m.