Posted on

MudDogs Safari today

Trevor Thorpe

MudDogs Safari today

Social Share

Mud and water await crews in today’s Chefette April Safari.
Round 2 of the 2011 WTI MudDogs Safari Championship has attracted 24 crews and the heavy rains this week in the north of the island, where most of the first session of the safari will be centred, are expected to be a test of man and machine.  
The first crew will roll off the start line at Chefette Speightstown at 2:01 p.m. at the start of the daylight section of the event that will include a Driver Challenge at Pico Tenerife, St Peter, at around 5 p.m.  
The competitors will return to the starting point for the dinner stop at 6 p.m, after which they will tackle the night route, which is slated to finish at 11 p.m. at Market Hill, St George. 
“Looking at the entry list for the Chefette April Safari, I am seeing guys that were not out in March, while some of those who entered that event are missing this time round.  “Adding in those new faces that turned out for the weekend practice event, we have already had nearly 80 individuals entered in MudDogs events this year,” new MudDogs chairman Warren Gollop said.
According to Gollop, for this stage of the season, it was really encouraging and was testament to the efforts of the MudDogs committee in recent seasons to make the discipline sustainable, not only by attracting new competitors, but also by consolidating relationships with sponsors.  
“We would again like to thank Chefette Restaurants for their support for the MudDogs, in particular the way in which our competitors and marshals are catered for. 
“I am looking forward to an exciting day of sport and would encourage everyone to attend the prizegiving at the Clay Pigeon Club, which promises to be a very special event,”  Gollop added.
The prize-giving for the event will be held at the Barbados Clay Target Shooting Association Club House at Searles, Christ Church, on Monday.
Running order – Novice Class1 Theo Waithe/Nyere Jones (Atlantic Seafood Inc/Betta Computers Suzuki Samurai)
2 David Brewster/Winston Drakes (Champion Wrecker Service/Mark’s Auto Spares Suzuki Samurai)
5 Aswad Bannister/Douglas Bain (Toyota Hilux)
7 Simon Parravicino/Christian Duncan (Sweet Temptations Toyota Hilux) 
10 Hadley Green/Dane McConney (Hunte Auto Spares/Automotive Art Toyota Hilux)
11 Jason Hinds/Curtis Grazette (Suzuki Samurai)
12 Brian Collymore/Adrian Jackman (Williams Tools/Owlie’s Trucking Suzuki Samurai)
14 Richard Hinkson/Rasheed Mapp (Suzuki Samurai)
20 Alexander Kellman/Gary Mendes (Lex Fitness/MK Rentals Suzuki Samurai)
22 Matthew Durant/Trina Griffith (Suzuki Jimny)
Pro Class
3 Leslie Alleyne/Chris O’neal (Autozone Inc/Maxxis Tyres Mitsubishi Pajero)
4 Nicolas Lorde/Warrick Eastmond (Niccolls & Edghill Construction Suzuki Vitara)
6 Adrian Sinckler/Andre Murrell (Suzuki Samurai)
8 Ben Norris/Darnley Rayside (Electric Avenue/Pitbull Energy Drink Land Rover Discovery)
9 Sean Dowding/Kirk Watkins (Axis Inc/Aerotec Services Inc/Huzier Ltd/Mahindra Motorsports Mahindra Pik-Up)
13 Sean Mottley/Kreigg Yearwood (First Caribbean International Bank Suzuki Vitara)
15 Gregory Dickenson/Peter Bradshaw (Toyota Hilux)
16 Michael Ward/Willie Hinds (Country Notions Maintenance/Jammin’ Cruises Suzuki Samurai)
17 Kerry Renee/Jason Downey (Suzuki Samurai)
18 Audley Croney/Jeremy Croney (CC Motorsports Suzuki Samurai)
19 Mark Western/Robin Hinds (Yardman/Kar Parts Store Nissan Patrol)
21 Biddy Barber/Brett Barber (JE Security/Biddy’s Visitor Information Mitsubishi Pajero)
23 Ryan Corbin/Dustin Edwards (Corbin’s Catering Services/Sweet Temptations/SDRR Hydraulics & Industrial Spares/Crane & Equipment Toyota Hilux)
24 Edson Arthur/Renata Roett (Toyota Hilux)