Posted on

Wrong replay shown


Ezra Stuart

Wrong replay shown

Social Share
Share

THE SHOWING of a wrong television replay cost India’s captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni his wicket on the first day of the ongoing second Digicel cricket Test against the West Indies at Kensington Oval.
Yesterday, the International Cricket Council (ICC), the game’s governing body, confirmed that an error by the host broadcaster IGM Media led to the wrong replay being shown to the third umpire, Barbadian Gregory Brathwaite during a review of a Fidel Edwards’ no-ball.
During India’s first innings’ total of 201, Dhoni was out caught at mid-on off the bowling of Edwards for just two in the 59th over. On-field umpire Ian Gould suspected that the delivery may have been a no-ball and sought confirmation from Brathwaite.
Upon review, the delivery Brathwaite was shown by the host broadcaster was legitimate and so Dhoni was given out.
But the ICC said it was subsequently established that Brathwaite had been shown the wrong replay and that the delivery that led to Dhoni’s dismissal should indeed have been called a no-ball.
“The host broadcaster for this series, IMG Media, acknowledged the mistake and has apologized. Having looked into the situation, I am satisfied it was an unfortunate but honest mistake in what is a tense and live environment,” match referee Chris Broad said.
“It is worth pointing out that the umpires followed the correct procedures and are without blame in this matter.
“Seeing as the game has continued, clearly there is no opportunity to reverse the decision. We are forced now to put it behind us and move on with the remainder of the match,” Broad added.
Brathwaite was only appointed to the ICC’s International panel earlier this year as a television umpire.
In the ICC statement, an unnamed spokesman for IMG was quoted as saying: “IMG Media takes its responsibilities on this matter very seriously. This was a case of human error, compounded by a senior replay operative having to return home at very short notice.”
The ICC also pointed out that since the Decision Review System (DRS) is not in operation during this three-match series, “the enhanced standards, including the presence of an ICC technical official, is not in place as would be the case when DRS is used”.
 

LAST NEWS