Posted on

Mounter sets new record

Justin Marville

Mounter sets new record

Social Share

FIRST WATERFORD. Next, the world?
Javed Mounter signalled his intentions ahead of the upcoming Junior World Championships, setting a new track record  in the 200-metre time trial to bring down the curtain at the National Cycling Track Championships on Tuesday at the Randolph Field Velodrome.
It was the defining moment of Mounter’s exceptional showing at the three-day championships, which also included victories in the keirin and kilo on the opening day.
But the new time trial record of 11.24 seconds truly set the talented junior apart from the rest of the field, as G4S Swift’s Brandon Wilkie could do nothing but settle for the runner-up spot.
The record was one of two wins on the night for Mounter, who further anchored a team of fellow former Velo Caribe riders – Ricky Hinkson and Kevon Bishop – to victory in the team sprint.
It was the second time he relegated Wilkie to second place, having held off Darren Matthews to beat G4S into the silver medal spot.
It also proved to be the only time Matthews took anything but gold at those championships following an even more impressive performance that yielded a total six wins in three nights.
Having already copped the kilo, keirin, scratch race and individual pursuit over the weekend, the newly crowned road race and time trial champ was back at it again early Tuesday night, downing Bishop in the senior equivalent of the 200-metre time trial.
And this was before Matthews capped the night’s proceedings with its most dominant performance yet, lapping the entire points-race field, save Mounter and Wilkie, on the way to an easy victory.
Mounter was eventually second while Wilkie finished third.
Underrated independent cyclist Deidre Mayers also completed a similarly domineering showing after winning the women’s 1 000 metres for her third title in as many events. Esther Miller-Rosemond of Fugen had to settle for second while G4S Charane Catwell was third.
It came on the heels of Monday’s 200-metre record, which Mayers set with a new time of 13.38 seconds.
Fugen’s duo of Sedwin Jones and Kristin Vanderpool finished the championships unbeaten in the masters’ and juvenile divisions, respectively with wins in the 200-metre time trial.