Posted on

Memories of David

John Sealy

Memories of David

Social Share

The Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) faithful turned out in their numbers yesterday to signal the final day of the 56th annual conference at DLP headquarters in George Street, St Michael.
The party members and supporters heard Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, elected unopposed as DLP president, acknowledge and laud the contributions of late Prime Minister David Thompson, saying that the family of the DLP was devastated by his passing.
“Today we remember him with profound gratitude and continue to pray for the peaceful repose of his soul,” Stuart told the gathering in The Auditorium.
He also welcomed back Government minister Dr Denis Lowe after “a near-fatal illness had taken hold of and immobilized him”.
After hospitalization and extended sick leave, Lowe resumed his ministerial duties in May.
Stuart also praised Denis Kellman, who acted for Lowe, saying he brought “verve and talent” to the ministry.
Stuart spoke about his Government’s commitment to putting people first and protecting jobs in the public and private sector.
The annual conference also saw the election of DLP?officers.
George Pilgrim has been returned as general secretary; Irene Sandiford-Garner is first vice-president; Ronald Jones, second vice-president; John Boyce, third vice-president; and Donville Inniss fourth vice-president.
Sandra O. Forde is treasurer and Hartley Reid, assistant secretary.