Posted on

Smith to captain Windies ‘A’ Twenty20 team

luigimarshall, [email protected]

Smith to captain Windies ‘A’ Twenty20 team

Social Share

DYNAMIC?Barbados all-rounder  Dwayne Smith will captain the West Indies “A” Twenty20 team which will face Bangladesh “A” in two Digicel T20s at the Beausejour Stadium in St Lucia on November 18 and 19.
Smith, 28, who cracked a century on his Test debut against South Africa in 2004, has played in ten Tests and ten  T20 Internationals along with 77 One Day Internationals.
The 13-man squad includes just three players who have never played for the West Indies senior team. The trio is Trinidadian leg spinner Samuel Badree, Guyanese left arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul and Trinidadian batsman Jason Mohammed.
Mohammed was awarded the Player of the Tournament and the Richie Richardson Trophy for most outstanding batsman in the recently concluded Regional Super50 Tournament.
All the other ten members of the squad have played international cricket with Grenadian fast bowler Nelon Pascal and Smith also playing Test cricket.
Barbadian all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite, who is a member of the West Indies “A”  Test  squad also got the selector’s nod, but there is no room for his cousin Jonathan Carter.
The two Digicel T20s will follow the Second Digicel Test also in St Lucia.
Barbadian all-rounder Shamarh Brooks has been added to the team for that match which starts on Saturday.
Brooks, the former Barbados and West Indies Under-19 skipper, also captained  the Sagicor High Performance Centre Team.
The two teams will then move to St Vincent for three One Day games on November 23, 25 and 27. The Windies will name a new squad for that series. 
West Indies A Twenty20 squad:
Dwayne Smith (captain), Samuel Badree, Christopher Barnwell, Miles Bascombe, Nkrumah Bonner, Carlos Brathwaite, Johnson Charles, Jason Mohammed, Garey Mathurin, Nelon Pascal,  Veerasammy Permaul, Krishmar Santokie, Devon Thomas.
Team Management:
Hendy Springer (head coach), Stuart Williams (assistant coach), Colin Borde (manager), Dr Jacqui  King-Mowatt (physiotherapist), Shannon Lashley (strength and conditioning coach).