Posted on

First-timers rule Funathlon

Randy Bennett

First-timers rule Funathlon

Social Share

Two first-timers took THE NATION Funathlon by storm yesterday, registering comprehensive victories on their way to capturing the top two prizes.
Jerome Blackett, and Dominique Marshall captured the two coveted prizes in the NATION 10K Fun Run men’s and women’s divisions respectively in their first ever outings at the event.
Running in perfect conditions, Blackett a member of the Barbados Defence Force’s Sports Programme, made his move at the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal, distancing himself from arch rival Mark Greenidge, before comfortably coming home in a personal best time of 34:54.
Greenidge crossed the line in second position almost a full minute behind in 35:32, while Andrew Brathwaite was third in a time of 38:07.
In an interview with the NATIONSPORT, Blackett explained that his race strategy had gone exactly to plan and he had achieved his main objective of running a sub-35 minute time.
“My plan was first to get out in the lead where I could set the pace and then finish strongly. I know that I am a stronger finisher than Mark [Greendige], so I knew that when I made my move at the bus terminal that I had the speed and endurance to win the race from  there,” he said.
He added that his sights were now fixed on the Run Barbados 10k & Half Marathon, noting that he had used this race to prepare for the stiffer competition he would face in those events.
Meanwhile, Marshall said she only had one race plan, and that was to start out as fast as possible.
“I didn’t know if I would be able to maintain that in the race, but I knew I needed to take the lead from as early as possible,” she said after finishing in a time of 42:56.
She too has her sights on the Run Barbados Half Marathon and said that she was pleased with the progress she had made leading up to the event.
Carlie Pipe finished second in 46:05, while Marlene Stuart’s time of 48:32 was good enough for third.
Rodney Blackman was the first male home in the Fun Walk, followed by Dudley Harewood and Ian Mitchell, while Shani Williams copped the woman’s title, followed by Veta Batson and Vonnie Samameh Rose.