Posted on

Noel is BRC’s top driver

Trevor Thorpe

Social Share

Geoff Noel?is the new champion driver of the Barbados Rally Club (BRC).
Noel, who is also the club’s chairman, led from the front as he not only carried off the coveted Virgin Atlantic Champion Driver’s Trophy after amassing a total of 152 points, but also took the title for P4, as well as the club’s 4WD championship with 117 points.
During the club’s recent awards presentation at Mahogany Ridge, St Thomas, he was among more than 70 members who received prizes such as return tickets to Britain and “staycation” weekends at Seafoam Haciendas.
The awards were presented by Rachel Pilgrim of Virgin Atlantic, title sponsor of the BRC Driver’s and Class Championships.
The pair of Neil Armstrong and Barry Ward won the Two-Wheel Drive title.
Speaking after the presentation, Noel said one of the major highlights for him was the coverage of Sol Rally Barbados on international TV, as it afforded the club access to 771 million homes in more than 120 countries.
“Nothing comes close to this level of coverage. These are impressive results for a club in any sport, and I want to thank our members for making the club what it is,” he said.
Among the awardees were the sport’s volunteers: long-standing marshals Peter Garnes, Adam Mohammed, Philip McConney and Robert Springer, who were acknowledged with trophies, along with ten volunteers.
In the WTI MudDogs Safari Championship, Wayne Clarke took the Sextant Challenge Trophy as champion navigator, and Leslie Alleyne the Peter Farmer Memorial Trophy as champion driver. Dane McConney and Hadley Green were the Chefette Novice champions. Omar Boodhoo won the Autocross Championship.