Posted on

Christ Church in finals

Kenmore Bynoe

Christ Church in finals

Social Share

Hometown favourite Anthony “Ears” Mitchell carried Christ Church into their second successive finals of the National Sports Council’s Inter-Parish Islandwide Road Tennis Competition with a gritty 21-18, 21-9 win over Stigg Merritt at Vauxhall on Wednesday night.
Mitchell has not lost a game in the tournament, now in its second year.
The first set was a largely even affair, with Mitchell surprisingly being held at bay and even trailing his unflappable opponent.
Matching Mitchell shot for shot, Merritt looked keen to create an upset for St James, but Mitchell gradually reasserted his authority and took the set.
In the second set, Merritt faltered badly and received a “sow”.
Christ Church’s trip to the finals proved rocky as Dave Arrindell was stunned by the attacking play of David Phillips, who brushed off a first set “sow” to take the game 8-21, 21-17, 21-19.
Phillips played almost every shot in the book in that first set which he surprisingly lost.
He adopted a more subdued approach spiced with classic strokes and this paid off.
Tomorrow’s final will be a repeat battle between Christ Church and St Michael.  
Julian “Michael Jackson” White and top gunner Jeffrey “Borah” Best will be looking to give St Michael their second successive crown.
Christ Church will be counting on claiming the veteran and “B” crowns after their teams qualified on Wednesday night.  
Veteran Peter Moore rolled over St John’s Winston Padmore 21-16, 21-14 and Ian Harewood crushed Sylvester Howard 21-7, 21-13.  
Moore and Harewood will clash with the St George duo of Cardinal Beckles and Goldbourne Bailey.
In the “B” battles, Christ Church’s Simon Bayne ignored a one-hour rain interruption to defeat Lloyd Dean of St James 21-14, 16-21, 21-15. Virtual unknown Garry Thomas then thrilled the spectators and gave Christ Church a clean sweep by taking out southpaw Edwin Ward 21-18, 21-14.
Tonight at Dover, Bayne and Thomas will clash with St Lucy’s Kerry Francis and Neil Greaves in the the men’s “B” finals.
Before that, Emar Edwards of St George will face defending champion Darius Gaskin of St Michael at eight. Kim Holder of St George will then meet St Michael’s Sandra Bailey in the women’s finals.