Posted on

PM: All parties must meet

Yvette Best

PM: All parties must meet

Social Share

Four Cabinet members have been directed by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to meet today with all parties involved in the ongoing Alexandra School dispute.
Minister of Education Ronald Jones has been assigned to chair the ministerial committee which includes Minister of Labour and Social Security Dr Esther Byer-Suckoo, Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs Adriel Brathwaite and Parliamentary Secretary in the Office of the Prime Minister Harry Husbands.
President of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), Walter Maloney, confirmed receipt and the union’s acceptance of the invitation. The president of the Barbados Association of Principals of Public Secondary Schools (BAPPSS), Winston Crichlow, did likewise. Both groups have voiced the need to bring the now two-week-old strike to a speedy end.
“[We] must be very concerned about the welfare of the children, not only at Alexandra, but at all the schools where the action is likely to impact,” Crichlow said yesterday.
Read the full story in today’s MIDWEEK NATION.