Posted on

Trinidad and Tobago T20 champions

Philip Hackett

Trinidad and Tobago T20 champions

Social Share

Trinidad and Tobago continued to dominate regional T20 cricket, capturing their second title in just the third edition of the WICB’s latest regional tournament. 
Last night the Trinis comprehensively defeated Jamaica by 63 runs to take theCaribbean T20 title and secure a place in the Champions League later this year.
Combined with their success dating back to the days of theStanford tournament Trinidad has now won three regional T20 titles.
Opting to bat first after winning the toss Trinidad and Tobago reached a formidable 168 for six on the strength of Dwayne Bravo’s belligerent 49 off 43 balls and Kieron Pollard’s robust unbeaten 39 off 13  deliveries. Pollard smashed four sixes and a four, three of the sixes in the final over of the innings bowled by Krishmar Santokie.
In reply Jamaica struggled to 105 for five with Carlton Baugh Jnr topscoring with an unbeaten 39 off 23 balls.