Posted on

Roll cage rule in effect

Trevor Thorpe

Social Share

Roll cages for the faster cars will be the major addition to the rules of racing of the Barbados Association of Dragsters and Drifters (BADD) when drivers meet for the opening event on February 25 at Bushy Park.
All racing cars must have a roll cage, which is a protective steel frame in the interior designed to prevent injury in case the car turns over.
BADD?was allowed a one-year moratorium and the roll cages will be introduced for the fastest cars.
Chairman Nicholas Harrison, in making the announcement during the recently held first annual awards ceremony at LIME Sports Club, said the pioneer status of the club had ended and according to the rules of International Automobile Association (FIA), through the Barbados Motoring Federation (BMF) he was giving members due notice of the new addition to the rules.
“The new rule would affect those drivers clocking 7.35 seconds and faster and drivers have been made aware of the new rule for the coming season.
“They have ample time to complete full preparation by the time we are ready for scrutineering and qualifying,” Harrison told the audience made up of drivers, mechanics, sponsors and friends.
The opening of the season was originally set for today, but had to be pushed back to February 25 since drivers said they would not have been ready for that date.
The chairman said that from the club’s perspective, plans were progressing well and just a few small details were still being worked on with regards to sponsorship.
During the evening’s proceedings, Dwight Alleyne who had scored outright wins in the 8.00 to 8.49 seconds category at the October meeting and 8.50 to 8.99 seconds at the December meeting of Twisted Drag Warz 5 and 6, respectively, was presented with the champion driver’s number and trophy by special guest Ryan Haloute, managing director of Chefette Restaurants.
Haloute was also made an honorary member of the association, along with Eric Clarke, marketing manager of Barbados Today.
Early pace-setter Steve Bruce, Anthony-Ramon Archer, Benjamin Eastmond and lone female driver Jackie Linton collected the top prizes for the opening event of the last season.
Bruce and Archer were joined by Christopher Sargeant, Jason Downey and Clifton Pilgrim as the category winners at the April meeting.
Jason Kirton, William Goddard, Russell Yearwood, Eastmond, Downey and Albert Collymore led the charge of drivers in their respective categories at the end of the June meeting.
Roger Lindo, Chris Hinds, Ivor Cox, Eastmond and Kemar Barrow were the winners in September.
Corey Stanford was the fastest man at the October meeting, joining other group winners such as Alleyne, Chris Hinds, Ramon Blackett, Downey, Collymore and Michael Austin.
Kirton, Sherlock Payne, Alleyne, Derek Bentham and Austin made up the group winners as the curtain came down on the year’s action last month.
Martez Hackett collected special prizes for posting the fastest elapsed time of 7.16 seconds, traveling at 97.08 miles per hour, and for being the fastest four-wheel driver.
Ryan Carrington (7.989 seconds) and Corey Stanford (7.574 seconds) were rewarded for being the fastest front wheel drive and fastest rear wheel drive competitors, respectively.
A reaction time of 0.00262 returned by Russell Yearwood brought him a special prize, while Shawn Fields collected a prize for the fastest 60-foot dash.
Dianne Bayley was the most outstanding member; Adrian Linton, the most dedicated member, and Anthony-Ramon Archer the most improved driver.