Posted on

Bajans make mark

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Social Share

Denied a chance to compete in the final after going through the rounds, Barbadian athletes made the most of conditions at the 2012 National Junior Championships in Trinidad and Tobago yesterday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
In the Under-18 boys’ 100 metres, Levi Cadogan and Mario Burke had two of the fastest qualifying times, but were unable to compete in the final since as usual the spaces were reserved for home athletes.
Nicholas Douglas, of Zenith, won the final in 11 seconds flat, while Declan McLean, of Simplex, was second in 11.06.
In the semis, Cadogan won his heat in 10.64 seconds and Burke also won his heat in 10.98 seconds, running into a stiff head wind of 2.7. Cadogan reconfirmed his qualification for the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Junior Championships.
Akeem Harris (11.49), Darren Bynoe (12.57) and Shadon Rock (11.89), all of Foundation, also competed.
In the Under-20 boys’ 400 metres, Nikolai Gall had the third fastest time of 48.85 seconds in the heats.
The competition in the final would have done him good, as Jereem Richards, of Quantum, crossed the line in 46.79 and Brandon Benjamin, of Memphis Pioneers, was second in 47.31.
Anderson Devonish’s 50.13 was the eighth fastest time in the heats.
Ti-Adana Belle clocked 57.27 in finishing second in the girls’ heats.
Shakera Hall and Ramarco Thompson were more fortunate as they were in straight finals.
Hall won the Under-20 girls’ 100 metres hurdles in 14.60 seconds and Thompson (14.65) was second in the Under-18 boys’ race which was won in 13.68 seconds by Reubin Walters, of Memphis Pioneers.
In the field, Tristan Whitehall was second in the Under-20 boys’ shot put with 15.27 metres behind Hezekiel Romeo (18.36).
Romario Antoine was third in the Under-18 boys’ discus with 41.06m and Leah Bannister produced a season’s best 45.55m to win the Under-20 girls’ discus, qualifying for the CAC Juniors.
Shamar Rock and Daley Carter were also competing in the Under-18 boys’ octathlon and the Under-20 boys’ decathlon, respectively. (SAT)