Posted on

Team Swift champs

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Team Swift champs

Social Share

The rest of local cycling have been left chasing Team Swift.
Led by Ricardo Hinkson and the Kelly brothers Jesse and Joshua, CGI G4S Team Swift put their stamp on the National Track Championships after winning the team sprint on Saturday night to take home the most medals by any club during this year’s three-day event at the Randolph Field Velodrome.
It was the cap to the squad’s fine all-round performance, which included dominant showings from Deidre Mayers and Tremaine Forde-Catwell in their respective women’s and tiny mites’ divisions over the previous two nights.
But the night belonged to Hinkson and the Kelly boys, who took home the team sprint title after posting 52.20 seconds in the final to beat Velo Caribe (53.41) that entered with the best qualifying time and featured the country’s best sprinter in Javed Mounter.
The A-Class Batteries Golden Wheelers of Shane Weekes, Edwin Sutherland and Darius Ramsammy was third with a 54.43 clocking.
Mounter, the national 200-metre record holder, got some measure of solace after beating Jamol Eastmond in the seniors’ sprint final to add that title to the keirin and kilo crowns he won on opening night.
The older Kelly, Jesse, capped a great individual performance at the championships by taking the junior equivalent ahead of Fugen’s Kristin Vanderpool. Joshua had to settle for third in the juvenile division as Edwin Sutherland of Golden Wheelers emerged victorious over Kelly’s teammate Liam Lovell in the final.
Stuart Maloney followed up his tremendous form on the road by dominating the masters category with a victory over fellow independent Craig Wharton in the final.
The in-form Jamol Eastmond brought the curtain down on the championships after securing 44 points to comfortably win over Mounter (23) and fellow independent Simon Clarke (20). (JM)