Posted on

Gunning for drag record

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Gunning for drag record

Social Share

Going for?the fastest time ever.
That will be the goal of drivers during Part 3 of the Barbados Association of Dragsters and Drifters’ 2012 Drag Warz Series at the Bushy Park Racing Circuit on August 12.
The day-night event, which is slated from 3 p.m. to 9 p.m., is expected to see an all out effort being made to eclipse the fastest time of 7.183 seconds, currently held by Steve Bruce in his Belleville Motor Oils Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 3.
The leading contenders are expected to be Corey Stanford, at the wheel of his Williams Equipment/SDRR/Roscoe’s Machine Shop/Illusion Graphics/ACS Maintenance/Dennis Heath Tuned Toyota Corolla AE 86; Matthew “DMZ” Forde, in his potent Mitsubishi Evo 3, and Jamal “Most Wanted” Sobers with his Mitsubishi Evo 7.
Current points leader Jason Downey, in his well prepared Toyota RunX, Dwayne Clarke in his Hunte’s Auto Spares/On Time Auto Works/Tyrone Martindale-prepared Honda Civic Type R, and Noel Pilgrim, in his Shell Top Rock Mitsubishi Cyborg, should give a good account of themselves.
Others to keep a close eye on include Michael “Chubz” Carter in his Honda Civic Type R, Kevin Griffith with his very fast Signature Investments/Dennis Heath-tuned Suzuki Swift Gti, David Hobbs in his Mitsubishi Evo 8 MR, Roger Lindo in his revamped Honda Civic, Sherlock Payne, in his Johnson’s Auto/DCR Auto Mitsubishi Lancer, Dwight Jordan in his Connolly’s Auto Service Subaru WRS STi and Colin Reid with his Freedom Radiators/Hot Bits Sports Suspension Suzuki Swift Gti.
It is also expected that there will also be a return of the Big Bikes, with Roderick Stuart leading the charge on his Honda 1 000cc.
Patrons will be treated to drifting demonstrations by the king and prince of the discipline, Geoffrey Ullyett and Andrew Jones, respectively.
With the compliments of Courtesy Garage/Goodyear Tyres, four lucky fans will get the chance to win a prize of going around the circuit with one of these drivers.
To add even more excitement to the event, Roger Mayers, with his awesome Chefette Restaurants Ford Focus, will be making a guest appearance, along with Neil Armstrong in a Toyota Starlet and Stuart Williams in his Williams Equipment Lotus.
Points table: 1. Jason Downey 176, 2. David Hobbs 175, 3. Clifton Pilgrim 171, 4. Kevin Wiggins 170, 4. Shoy Gumbs 170, 6. Edward St. John 155, 7. Dwayne Clarke 150, 8. Paul St. Hill 107, 8. Shane Worrell 107, 10. Jackie Linton 106, 10. Curtis Lee 106. (PR/EZS)