Posted on

Tight horse awards picks

Lindon Yarde

Tight horse awards picks

Social Share

When the?Barbados Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association and the Barbados Turf Club host the 2012 Garrison Turf Awards, there are two categories that will not be easy and straightforward.
Apart from the expected clash on the December 26 Boxing Day card, the other hot topic around the racetrack is who will emerge champion three-year-old and horse of the year.
The contenders for champion three-year-old can be narrowed down to four horses, especially since there were three winners of this year’s Barbados Triple Crown Series.
The four contenders in the order in which they won their leg of the series are: Aston Martin, Summer Time, Bandera Belle and the unbeaten Vapour Trail.
Aston Martin won the Barbados Guineas Grade I and the BTBA Breeders’ Stakes and Trophy Grade II, both over 1 570 metres. He also finished third in the Midsummer Creole Classic.
Summer Time won the Grade I Barbados Midsummer Creole Classic over 1 800 metres. She also finished fourth in the Barbados Fillies Guineas, going 1 570 metres and second in the Grade I United Insurance Barbados Derby over 2 000 metres.
Bandera Belle, going off at odds of 35-1, upset the field to win the United Insurance Barbados Derby.  
Vapour Trail won five straight races, including the Barbados Fillies Guineas Grade I and the God Bless Bim Handicap for horses rated 65-85, both races over 1 570 metres.
Her other wins were three condition races – the Rotherley Construction/ BTBA Sales Graduates three-year-Old Stakes and Trophy, the Realtor Limited Trophy over 1 100 metres and division-A of the Loan Ranger over 1 000 metres.
The horse of the year can come down to three contenders in Dancin David, Shared Adventure and Discreetwon. Dancin David has won three times this year, including the Sandy Lane Gold Cup Grade I Invitational, the Lost In The Fog Handicap – both races over 1 800 metres – and The Amstel Cup over 2 000  metres.
Shared Adventure’s six victories include five sprints. After his first sprint success in the Jim Davis Condition Race 1 100 metres, his lone 1 570 metres win came in the Ocala Breeders’ Sale Company Trophy Condition race.
The colt’s other sprint victories revealed his steps up the ratings ladder. They include the Condominium At Palm Beach Trophy Handicap 75-100; the Heineken Sprint Trophy Handicap 90-115; BTC Sprint Handicap 97-120 and the Coo Bird Handicap 117-140.
Discreetwon has won the Tirah Handicap 1 100 metres; the Grand Stand Posse Fifth Anniversary Stakes and Trophy Handicap over 1 570 metres; the Emancipation Day Handicap 68-90 and the 46th Anniversary Of Independence Handicap for horses rated 100-120.
With Dancin David still recovering and very unlikely to face the starter on Boxing Day, the clash between Shared Adventure and Discreetwon in the Victor Chandler Stakes and Trophy could be instrumental in determining Horse Of The Year.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maximum 1000 characters remaining in your comment.