Posted on

MCBI award gives Corbin the double

Trevor Thorpe

MCBI award gives Corbin the double

Social Share

Neil Corbin was the pick of the drivers as he collected the coveted champion driver’s trophy during the annual awards ceremony of the Motoring Club Barbados Inc. (MCBI) at Kendal Sporting last Saturday night.
Corbin, winner of the merged M5 and M6 groups, became the first double club champion driver – he also was winner with the Barbados Rally Club – since Adrian Linton performed the feat ten years ago.
Speaking after receiving the trophy from MCBI public relations officer David Stuart, Corbin said it was a year of intense rivalry and excellent work by his works crew.
 “I have to thank my sponsors who have been there for me throughout the years, but it was the collective efforts of my crew. It was really a team effort and I thank them. 
“I also thank the drivers for the high level of competition I had to contend with in both clubs and I am looking forward to the new season,” Corbin told the audience.
Corbin, who drove the Nassco/Jason Jones/Auto Solutions/Castrol Toyota Starlet and also won the rear wheel drive title, ended the season with 118 points. He said the machine was being “freshed” for the rigours of the new season and he would try to repeat his performance, but admitted that it would not be easy.
Paul “The Surfer” Bourne finished second overall with 115 points, but took the top prize at stake for M8-WRC, while arch-rival Roger “The Sheriff’ Skeete placed third after collecting 102 points for his efforts during the last season.
Wayne Archer climaxed a good 2012 season by taking fourth place overall with 101 points and was also the highest placed in the two-wheel drive category.
Rhett Watson, who took the title in SM11, and Norman Catwell, who wrested the title in M7, rounded out the top six places overall with 98 and 91 points, respectively.
Good performances earned drivers such as Andrew Mallalieu the title in P4 and M8-A merged with 62 points. Neil Armstrong was title winner in SM10 with 75 points, Carlos Edwards made off with the title in SM9 with 48 points, and Paul Inniss was the winner of the P2 class.
John Foster picked up the novice driver’s trophy, Sean Field the Richard Roett Memorial Trophy, Trevor Mapp the John “Tiny” Harrison Memorial Trophy and Nicolette Campbell and Jefferson Russell the President’s Award for service to the club.
Fourth and fifth place finishers in the respective groups received gifts donated by Keisha’s Cheese Cake. The marshals also received trophies, while Appreciation Awards were presented to Richard Daniel and Race 1.
At the start of the evening’s proceedings, one minute’s silence was observed for the passing of Gabriel Konig, the first female driver to race at Bushy Park in 1972 as a member of the BOAC Speed Team.