Posted on

Champs win at last minute

shadiasimpson, [email protected]

Champs win at last minute

Social Share

A LAST-MINUTE?goal from Tyreke Rayside-Demendonica saw Eden Lodge defending their National Sports Council Primary School hockey league title with a 2-1 victory over Ellerton Primary yesterday at the Netball Stadium.
The scores were locked 1-1 from the first half after Deaundre Prescott had opened the scoring for Eden Lodge before Tyreke Holder responded for Ellerton.
Attacks and counter attacks were made with great skill before, with one minute left on regular time, Rayside-Demendonica sealed the deal for the champions.
Earlier in the morning Eden Lodge pipped Luther Thorne 2-1 with goals from Shauniko Johnson and Raghnall Yarde-Deane. Cody Clarke responded for Luther Thorne.
Ellerton routed Hillaby Turners Hall 5-1, with a hat-trick from Holder and goals from Paul Padmore and Jaheem Blackman. Jaydee Lowe scored Hillaby’s goal.  
St Mary’s captured the skills section with a 3-0 triumph over Luther Thorne. Dante Trotman of St Mary’s was voted Most Valuable Player. (MVP)  
Individual League Honours
Best Defender and MVP: Rashad Armstrong (Eden Lodge)
Most Goals: Raghnall Yarde-Deane (Eden Lodge) Seven Goals
Best Goal Keeper: Tyreke Weekes (Eden Lodge)
Best Forward: Paul Padmore (Ellerton). (KB)