Posted on

Cabinet shifts

Ricky Jordan

Cabinet shifts

Social Share

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart last night unveiled a slightly changed Cabinet, interchanging the Ministries of Housing, Health, Transport and Small Business and dropping former Minister of Commerce and Trade Haynesley Benn.
Exactly one week after winning the general election by a 16-14 margin, Stuart told viewers on national television he had chosen the new Cabinet in pursuit of his commitment to maintaining the highest standards of leadership. This will be led by himself as Prime Minister, Minister of National Security, the Public Service and Urban Development.
The major changes include John Boyce being moved from the transport portfolio to be Minister of Health, while former Minister of Housing Michael Lashley takes over Transport and Works.
Donville Inniss will move from the Ministry of Health to be Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development; and Denis Kellman will shed the Ministry of small business to take up the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development.
The others remained virtually unchanged, with Chris Sinckler retaining the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs; Dr David Estwick returning as Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Water Resource Management; Ronald Jones continuing as Minister of Education; Richard Sealy as Minister of Tourism (with International Transport added); Steve Blackett as Minister of Social Care; Dr Denis Lowe as Minister of the Environment and Drainage; Adriel Brathwaite as Attorney General and Stephen Lashley as Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth.