Posted on

Evelyn, Burke on the mark

Sherrylyn A. Toppin

Social Share

Sprinters Tristan Evelyn and Mario Burke made the most of their chances yesterday to notch the first two qualifying performances during the Barbadian invasion of the Trinidad and Tobago CARIFTA Trials at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
Evelyn made her debut in the Under-17 Girls’ 100 metres hurdles and clocked a speedy 13.89 seconds with a legal wind of 1.3 metres per second.
Unfortunately, neither Allana Ince (14.80) nor Danielle Scantlebury (14.89), who competed in that event last year, were able to get within the required 14.40 seconds.
Evelyn also clocked 12.43 seconds running into a 1.9 headwind and Timeka Jordan’s 12.23 was just legal with a wind of 2.0 metres per second, but neither hit the required 11.95 seconds.
Burke, who was a bronze medallist in the Under-17 Boys’ 100 metres last year, was spot on in delivering 10.80 seconds, the exact time required for the event, running into a slight headwind.
In the 400 metres, Ramarco Thompson was two hundredths of a second off qualifying clocking 49.02 seconds to win the Under-17 Boys’ 400 metres. Rivaldo Leacock was second overall in 49.32, while Akeem Marshall did 50.06 and Shae Nurse 53.44.
And just as heartbreakingly close was Ariel Jackson, who lowered her time in the Under-20 girls’ race from 57.12 to 55.21, mere splits off the 55.20. Tiana Bowen did 57.22 to win the Under-17 girls’ race, but Akeem McCollin, who did 49.02 in the heats, was still to run in the final.  
The other Barbadians in the 100 heats – Jebarri Cumberbatch (11.23), Tamal Atwell (11.25) and Kentoine Browne, who did 11.32 – will have to go back to the drawing board.
Levi Cadogan was the fastest of the Under-20 boys with a time of 10.63 seconds in the 100 metres. Kyle Farrell clocked 10.96 and Tre Adamson, 11.04 seconds.
They were all scheduled to advance to the “B” final as non-Trinidadians are not allowed in the finals.
In the other hurdles events, Michael Nicholls was first in the Under-17 Boys’ 110 metres race in 14.24 seconds with a tailwind of 3.9m/s and Juwan Augustin-Mayers was second in 15.16. Daley Carter was second overall in the Under-20 boys’ event in 14.84 seconds.
Jade Searles won the Under-17 Girls’ 3 000 metres in 5 minutes 05.38 seconds, but she was also off the qualifying pace.
In the field events, Charles Greaves was 14 centimetres short of the required 15 metres flat in winning the Under-20 Boys’ triple jump and Shamar Rock was third with 14.66.
Romario Antoine had a best throw of 40.19 metres in the Under-20 Boys’ discus, off by more than eight metres.