Posted on

Bulls women lock down trophies

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Bulls women lock down trophies

Social Share

The Lady Bulls now have a lot of keepsakes of their time together.
If they never play together again, at least the now defunct women’s champions can say they left their mark on history after sweeping the lion’s share of awards at the Barbados Amateur Basketball Association’s awards gala last Saturday at the Wildey Gymnasium.
It was in recognition of one of the most dominant team performances in 2012, when the Clapham-based side won their second successive league title to go along with the champion of champions trophy.
The rampaging Bulls also ran away with each individual honour in the women’s category as prolific combo guard Toni Atherley was adjudged both the MVP and Most Offensive Player while forward Rhe-Ann Niles copped the Best Defensive Player and Most Improved awards.
But what should’ve been Clapham’s big moment proved rather bitter-sweet following the club’s publicized breakup at the start of the season. The disbandment came after head coach Barry Rock (Women’s Coach of the Year) announced his stunning departure from the game.
At least the Bulls had further reason to celebrate after Clapham received their fifth successive Third Division cup – and seventh in nine years – despite losing out on the knockout title to Lumber Company Lakers.
Lakers also accounted for that division’s MVP award through the efforts of former top flight point guard Derek Browne before the club went on to accept the Premier League knockout and champion of champions trophies.
However, the biggest honour in the top flight was reserved for Warrens, who copped their first ever Premier League title after finally beating their rivals, Lakers, 3-1 in a stunning finals upset.
Six-foot-nine forward/centre Akeem Marsh won his second Premier League MVP award in three years following a season where he was in the top ten in both points (21.9) and blocks (2.4) as well as the top 15 in rebounds (8.9) and steals (2.6).
It was the second individual Premier League award on the night for the Urban Vybz St John’s Sonics side after combo forward Dwayne Kellman was adjudged the Most Improved Player.
Pinelands forward Charles Vanderpool (Best Defensive), Cougars swingman Adrian Stewart (Most Offensive) and Cavs head coach Adrian Craigwell (Men’s Coach of the Year) rounded out the Premier League award winners. (JM)