Posted on

Cricketers get their just reward

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Cricketers get their just reward

Social Share

Cricketers who competed in the Barbados Cricket Association’s (BCA) 2012 domestic competitions were rewarded last Saturday night during the BCA’s awards ceremony at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.
The Cave Shepherd Five Cricketers Of The Year awardees were Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme’s Renaldo Brathwaite, SuperCentre Spartan’s Marrodon Bend, Sagicor UWI’s Jonathan Carter and Akeem Dewar and ICBL Empire’s Roston Chase.
Each winner received a trophy, $500 in cash and a $500 Cave Shepherd voucher.
It was a memorable night for the Sagicor UWI duo, with Carter also walking away with the prize for batsman with the most runs while Dewar won the award for bowler with the most wickets in the LIME Elite division.
Shai Hope won the prestigious President’s Award which he received from president of the BCA, Joel Garner.
Twin sisters Kyshona and Kycia Knight, who were in Sri Lanka on West Indies duty but returned home on Sunday, completed a clean sweep of the major titles in the female category, winning the awards for the most improved female cricketer and most outstanding female cricketer respectively.
After a dominant year, Sagicor UWI received their trophies for making an unprecedented clean sweep of the three major titles by winning the LIME Elite competition, Sagicor General Twenty20 and the Sagicor General 50-over Cup.
In delivering his address, Garner noted that it had been a very successful year for the BCA, but acknowledged there was still much work to be done. He revealed that one of the proposals he would be making to the board was for the inclusion of women’s teams into the second division competition. (RB)