Posted on

Elcock sprints to cycling victory

shadiasimpson, [email protected]

Elcock sprints  to cycling victory

Social Share

WHO SAYS Russell Elcock can’t sprint?
Local cycling’s time trial record-holder now also has a road victory under his belt this season after out-sprinting a very competitive senior field to win Sunday’s 100-kilometre circuit race in St Lucy.
It was a surprise turn of events for a rider who has been outduelled at the line in any mad dash for the finish.
But Elcock turned the tables on the field this time, showing his strength by engaging the sprint from more than 100 metres out before winning by a clear three bike lengths.
Fugen teammate Darwin Griffith finished second while former road race champ John Turton settled for bronze in a race that didn’t feature Stuart Maloney or the overseas-based Darren Matthews.
Despite the strong head winds, the 10-lap circuit race got out to a quick start while Turton made an early attack to lead a break which included Elcock, Edwin Sutherland and Gregory Austin.
The peloton soon hauled them back in before Austin made a solo run thereafter for about two laps until he too was chased down.
Sutherland eventually won the junior category ahead of Joshua Kelly while Edward Julien downed Austin for yet another masters’ victory. Esther Miller-Rosemond returned to win the ladies’ race again without challenge and Kelly’s young brother Jacob took the juveniles’ crown.
In the Over-50s, John Proverbs came out victorious after holding off Ronald Harding while Tremaine Forde-Catwell won the tiny mites division. (JM)
1. Russell Elcock (Fugen), 2. Darwin Griffith (Fugen), 3. John Turton (Independent)
1. Edward Julien (Independent), 2. Gregory Austin (Independent), 3. Wayne Cummins (Independent)
Over 50s
1. John Proverbs (Independent), 2. Ronald Harding (Fugen)
1. Edwin Sutherland (A-Class Batteries Golden Wheelers), 2. Joshua Kelly (Independent)
1. Jacob Kelly (Independent), 2. Vernon James (A-Class Batteries Golden Wheelers), 3. Sean Sargeant (Fugen)
Tiny Mites
1. Tremaine Forde-Catwell (G4S Team Swift), 2. Chayne Goodman (G4S Team Swift)
1. Esther Miller-Rosemond

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maximum 1000 characters remaining in your comment.