Posted on

Smith gets Bajan pick

Ezra Stuart

Smith gets Bajan pick

Social Share

DWAYNE SMITH, former Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan and exciting young batsman Umar Akmal of Pakistan will represent the Barbados-based franchise in the inaugural Caribbean Premier League (CPL).
Smith, the Barbados Twenty20 captain, was among three pre-selected players for the three franchises who did not have a local player. Guyana opted for experienced middle order batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan and Antigua for West Indies opener Kieran Powell.
Barbados’ three West Indies Test fast bowlers Kemar Roach, Tino Best and Fidel Edwards, will play for the Antigua, St Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago franchises, respectively, in the July 30 to August 24 Twenty20 Tournament.
Trinidad and Tobago also grabbed experienced left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn and promising pacer Miguel Cummins of Barbados at yesterday’s CPL players’ draft in Jamaica.
Barbados, who will be coached by former West Indies opener Desmond Haynes, will have Kieron Pollard and Pakistan’s off-spinning all-rounder Shoaib Malik as their franchise players. They also secured the services of Trinidadian pacers Shannon Gabriel and Rayad Emrit as well as Guyanese leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo.