Posted on

WI keep faith with squad

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Social Share

The West Indies cricket selectors have kept faith with the same group of players chosen for the ICC Champions Trophy.
The West Indies Cricket Board yesterday announced a 13-man squad for the Jamaica leg of the upcoming Celkon Mobile Cup Series that also involves India and Sri Lanka.
All 13 were part of the unit that won one match, lost one and tied another during the Champions Trophy in England and Wales.
The two players from the 15-member squad to miss out are seasoned batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan and rookie fast bowler Jason Holder.
The eight-match tri-nation series will feature three games at Sabina Park on June 28, 30 and July 2 before switching to the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad for the last four matches, including the final on July 11.
Meanwhile, Sri Lankan batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan has been ruled out of the series after suffering a calf injury during the Champions Trophy semi-final against India on Thursday.
Scans revealed Dilshan had suffered a second degree tear which will require four to six weeks of recovery time.
West Indies squad: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Darren Sammy, Devon Smith. (HG/CMC)