Posted on

Red Force fall to Sunrisers

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Red Force fall to Sunrisers

Social Share

MOHALI – An impressive four-wicket haul by mystery spinner Sunil Narine failed to stifle an unrelenting Sunrisers Hyderabad who recaptured the momentum to seal a four-wicket win over Trinidad and Tobago in the Champions League T20 here yesterday.
Narine’s four wickets for nine runs in four overs put Trinidad and Tobago in control for the most part of the innings and in sight of victory at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium.
However, a remarkable fightback, led by a stunning counter-attacking half-century from Thisara Perera, helped propel Hyderabad safely to 164 for six after the Red Force posted 160 for eight.
Darren Bravo’s 44-ball 66 went in vain as the Trinidadians lost the momentum and conceded their first defeat following their opening win against Brisbane Heat on Sunday.
Bravo smashed five fours and four sixes with Evin Lewis adding 22, captain Denesh Ramdin 21 and Jason Mohammed 19.
Chasing a stiff target of 161 runs, Sunrisers rode on Perera’s unbeaten knock of 57, which came of just 32 balls, to start the main tournament with a win, with three balls to spare.
West Indies Test and T20 captain Darren Sammy scored 15 and picked up two wickets for 21 runs for Sunrisers.
In the other game, Titans beat Brisbane Heat by four runs to hand the Australians their second defeat. (CMC)
Summarized scores:
Trinidad and Tobago 160-8 in 20 overs (Darren Bravo 66, E. Lewis 22, D. Ramdin 21, J. Mohammed 19, N. Stewart 17; D. Sammy 2-21, T. Perera 2-26, I. Sharma 2-36). Sunrisers Hyderabad 164-6 in 19.3 overs (Thisara Perera 57 n.o., S. Dhawan 23, P. Patel 17, J.P. Duminy 17, D. Sammy 15, K. Sharma 13 n.o., V. Kihari 13; S. Narine 4-9). Sunrisers won by four wickets with three balls remaining.
Titans 123 in 18.5 overs (H. Davids 39, H. Kuhn 38, A.B. de Villiers 28; M. Gale 4-10, D. Christian 2-16). Brisbane Heat 119 in 20 overs (J. Hopes 37, D. Christian 21, C. Sabburg 19, C. Lynn 14; M. de Lange 3-13, R. Richards 2-20). Titans won by four runs.