Posted on

UWI’s high five

Harold Eastmond

Social Share

SAGICOR UWI became the second team and the first for more than a century to win five consecutive top-flight cricket titles when they defeated the relegated Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme (BDFSP) by nine wickets at Paragon yesterday.
ESAF?Pickwick are the only other team to achieve the feat, winning titles between 1901 and 1906. The UWI, who have been champions since 2009, ended on 102 points on the final day of their rescheduled first series LIME Elite division match.CGI Maple had to settle for second place with 98 points after being held to a draw by a determined SuperCentre Spartan side at Queen’s Park.
While UWI are celebrating another title, BDFSP have been demoted for the second time since promotion and relegation started in 2009.
An elated UWI captain Kyle Corbin said it was a testing season for the undisputed kings of local cricket.