Posted on

WI to start World T20 against India

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Social Share

Darren Sammy’s West Indies will start their defence of the ICC World Twenty20 title in Colombo against India in the feature Super 10 match in Bangladesh on March 23.
Earlier on the same day, Pakistan will lock horns with Australia in the second phase of the tournament which opens on March 16 with the first round of the men’s event.
This was revealed during the launch of the ticket sales and unveiling of the fixtures for the global event in Bangladesh yesterday.
The West Indiies won the last World Twenty20 in Colombo last year.
Bangladesh are among eight sides that will be divided into two groups of four teams each in the first round, with the table-toppers progressing to the Super 10 stage.
If Bangladesh reach the Super 10 stage, they will play all their matches in Dhaka, facing the West Indies on March 25, India on March 28, Pakistan on March 30 and Australia on April 1.
The prize money for the men’s event will be US$3 million, with the winners receiving US$1.1 million and the losing finalists collecting US$550 000.
Australia’s women will aim to complete a hat-trick of titles after having won the previous two finals in Barbados and Colombo. They open against New Zealand on March 23.
Hosts Bangladesh will make their maiden appearance on the world stage on March 26 when they will play last year’s semi-finalists, West Indies, who will also play 2009 champions England, two days earlier.
The prize money for the women’s event will be US$180 000, with the winner collecting US$65 000 and the losing finalist getting US$25 000.
The finals for men and women take place on April 6 in Mirpur.
Super 10 Groups:
Men’s Groups:
Group 1: Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Qualifier.
Group 2: West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia, Qualifier.
Women’s Groups:
Group A: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Ireland.
Group B: England, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh. (EZS)