Posted on

St James derby today

Ezra Stuart

Social Share

Weather?permitting, neighbouring St James teams Sunset Vacation House Cyclone and Newberry Province will clash in the Barbados Cricket?League’s (BCL) Champion of Champions’ final at Mapp Hill from 11:30 a.m., today.
With the pitch not covered during Friday’s torrential rainfall, both teams will be hoping that with yesterday’s sunshine and plenty of rolling, that the surface is firm and conducive for play in the 35-over-a-side match.
Cyclone, smarting from their loss to Vita Malt Whim in the BCL’s Twenty20 final at Kensington Oval last month, will be hoping to come away with some silverware this season.
“We have already lost one final and we have to win this one,” said captain Theodore Thomas.
“I am very positive and confident my team can do it. We are playing against Newberry and we are looking to win this game.
“I am just hoping that there won’t be any bad weather and everything will go well, as I know once there is play and the conditions are good, Cyclone will come out as champion of champions,” added Thomas.
His oppositive number Ryan Worell said Newberry will be out to atone their semi-final loss to Cyclone in the T20 at the same venue.
“It is going to be a very competitive game. Playing against Cyclone is always tough but we are coming with all our guns blazing.
“Winning would be retribution for losing to Cyclone in the T20 semi-final. This will be a pay back game for us,” Worrell declared.
“We are neighbours and we play on the same home ground at Sion Hill so this is a derby like Manchester United against City in English football. We want to show them we are the best BCL?team in St James,” Worrell added.
Newberry Province (from): Ryan Worrell (captain), Byron Morris, Pedro Turney, Shakeel Turney, Romel Cyrus, Leondra Clarke, Dario Thomas, Jimmy Thomas, Kamel Bishop, Jamar Ifill, Troy Riley, Marson Broomes, Rondell Springer.
Cyclone (from): Theodore Thomas (captain), Samuel Vaughan, Edwin Vaughan, Wayne Williams, Derwin Thompson, Adrian Watson, David Carrington, Rodney Roach, Leroy Willoughby, Ian Branch, Winston Worrell, Dario Mayers, Omar Wiggins.
Umpires: Anderson Holder, Michael Nicholls.
Man of the Match adjudicator: Andy Payne.