Posted on

Wesley Hall, Bay Primary champs

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Wesley Hall, Bay Primary champs

Social Share

Apparently Wesley Hall’s dominance doesn’t end at cricket.
The boys from King’s Street are back on the cross country throne again after sweeping the top two spots in yesterday’s Trevor Straughn Memorial race while Bay Primary held on for two of the first three girls’ positions at the 1 000 metre Garfield Sobers Sports Complex course.
Led by victor Dominic Cadogan, who won the event in five minutes flat, Wesley Hall left their mark on a strong field with an impressive squad of fleet-footed boys that included second-placed Kemar John (5:01) along with Leonardo Harewood (5:08) and Kelan Browne (5:22) – 13th and 18th best finishers respectively.
St Stephen’s weren’t to be outdone though, having secured three of the first 15 spots in that race led by the day’s fifth fastest runner Torrik Ward (5:03), who was ably supported by No.10 Romario Maxwell (5:13) and the fifteenth-placed Neville Blackman (5:20).
And this was after they threatened to dominate the top half of their top ten when Dominic Cadogan held a narrow lead over Hilda Skeene’s Akobi Antrobus, John and at least three St Stephen’s boys on the initial decent.
But Cadogan and John held them off in the sprint for home before Antrobus (5:02) had to settle for third during a frantic finish at the line.
Earlier, Bay Primary’s Rowland Kirton-Browne had no such challenges after leading for most of the girls’ equivalent while cruising to victory in a time of 5:29. St George’s Sarah Belle finished four seconds later in the runner-up spot while Kirton-Browne’s schoolmate Vivica Addison (5:39) was third.
Danielle Treasure (5:46) was fourth for St Gabriel’s, which also featured another top ten performer in the likes of the ninth-placed Chara Hinds (5:53). St Winifred’s also had a pair of top ten finishers in Zahara Gaskin (5:46) and Skye Lowden-Blaber (5:52), who came home in sixth and seventh respectively.
Hilltop’s Daesha Scantlebury (5:44) was fifth, Jayla Clarke (5:52) of St Giles came eighth while George Lamming’s Ryanna Grant (5:56) rounded out the top ten girls’ positions. (JM)