Posted on

Corbin, Hinds not in Super50 squad

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Corbin, Hinds not in Super50 squad

Social Share

THERE IS NO room for Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) captain Kyle Corbin or former skipper Ryan Hinds in a fairly predictable Barbados 14-man squad for the upcoming NAGICO Super50 Cup in Trinidad and Tobago from January 30 to February 15.
While Corbin, the lone batsman to score a century in the three national trial matches earlier this month but with an average of a mere 12.85 in 14 List A matches, has been omitted, the selectors have kept faith with West Indies Test opener Kraigg Brathwaite and Rashidi Boucher.
Both Brathwaite and Boucher failed to score a half-century in any of their six innings of the last regional 50-over tournament when the Windward Islands lifted the Clive Lloyd Trophy.
In fact, of the 17 players used when Barbados failed to make the semi-finals, the only four players not selected this time around are batting all-rounder Kyle Mayers, batsman Kyle Hope and fast-bowling all-rounders Javon Searles and Christopher Jordan.
Big fast-bowling all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite, who has recovered from a leg injury, is the only member of the squad who wasn’t in the team when the tournament was played earlier this year, alongside the regional first-class championship.
The captain has not been named and in a press release yesterday, the Barbados Cricket Association said the management team would be announced at a later date.
Barbados will compete with Trinidad and Tobago, Leeward Islands, and CCC for a semi-final berth while the Windward Islands, Jamaica, Guyana and overseas team Ireland will vie for a Fianl Four spot in the other group.
SQUAD: Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Rashidi Boucher, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Shane Dowrich, Fidel Edwards, Kirk Edwards, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Dwayne Smith, Kevin Stoute, Kenroy Williams.
Reserves: Miguel Cummins, Jamar Griffith and Shai Hope. (EZS)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maximum 1000 characters remaining in your comment.