Posted on

Christ Church in 3 finals

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Christ Church in 3 finals

Social Share

Christ Church qualified for three finals when the remaining semi-final matches of the National Sports Council’s Inter Parish Road Tennis Championships were played at the Deighton “Pa” Roach Centre, Bush Hall, on Wednesday night.
On a night when six “sows” were shared out, spectators witnessed some heart-stopping encounters and upsets which almost denied perennial finalists Christ Church from continuing their bid to stop St Michael’s dominance.
The dangerous Victor “Earth” Ward, in his first outing for Christ Church, routed Terry Dottin of St George 21-12, 21-7 in the “B” Class clash.
That meant former B champion Simon Bayne just needed 20 points from his match against past volleyball star Ivor Lashley for Christ Church to advance.
However, an out-of-sorts Bayne quickly trailed 0-10 in spite of Lashley’s holding in his attacking style.
After Lashley took the first game 21-9, Bayne continued his poor form in the second game where he needed to get at least 11 points.
Bayne was able to limp to 12-18 after Lashley committed some unforced errors at which stage the match was terminated, since Christ Church took the finals ticket for the fourth year in succession.
Similar drama unfolded in the veterans’ division, with experienced Christ Church campaigner Peter Moore losing to the resolute Jefferson “Liver” Rudder.
Moore, an NSC coach, whipped Rudder 21-7 in the first game before the St George player displayed tremendous defence and counter- attack to shock Moore 21-14, 21-7.
The unpredictable Ian “Chicken” Yearwood then faced the task of denying former Progressive volleyballer Ian Cox 42 points in order to eliminate St George.
The left-handed Yearwood unreeled some top shots to take the game 21-15, 21-16 to move into his fourth consecutive final.
The night had started with defending women’s champion Kim Holder of St George defeating Christ Church’s Margo Lorde 21-13, 21-9 to set up another showdown with Sandra Bailey. 
The action concluded with David Arundell stopping Andrew Goodridge of St George in the “A” Class battle 21-18, 21-5, while Marson Johnson defeated Lloyd Burke 21-15, 3-0.  (KB)